November 23, 1999 - by
Athletics Department Announces Golden Torch Award Winners

Athletics Department Announces Golden Torch Award Winners

/graphics/spacer.gif” width=5 height=4 border=0>
/graphics/spacer.gif” width=1 height=4 border=0>

Nov. 23, 1999

TALLAHASSEE, Fla. — The Florida State Athletics Department hosted
the ninth annual Golden Torch Gala on November 15, 1999, to announce this
year’s Golden Torch Award recipients. The black-tie affair was held in
the University Center Club Ballroom on the Florida State campus.

The Golden Torch Award is given annually to the FSU men’s and
women’s athletic team with the highest team GPA. There is also an award
given to the student-athlete on each team with the highest grade point
average and an overall award winner is also honored for both the men and

For the third year in a row, the Florida State women’s tennis team
claimed the Women’s Team Golden Torch Award with a grade point average of
3.658. Women’s tennis head coach Lise Gregory is entering her fourth year
at FSU and in her first three years in Tallahassee, Gregory has led the
Lady Seminoles to three Golden Torch Awards and three trips to the NCAA
Tournament. The FSU men’s team with the highest grade point average in
1998-99 was the men’s track and field team. Their overall team grade point
average was 3.006.

The Overall Female Golden Torch Award Winner was Kerry Miano, a
women’s track and field team member from Rocky Point High School in New
York. Miano maintained a 4.0 grade point average in 1998-99 to win the
prestigous award. The Overall Male Golden Torch Award Winner was Kevin
Flanagan. Flanagan, a member of the men’s swim team, had a GPA of 3.952
for the 1998-99 academic year.

The individual winners from each team were Matthew Diaz from
baseball, Vanessa Fuchs from women’s basketball, Chris Hull from men’s
basketball, Xuan Stevens from the women’s cross country team, Michael Maier
from the men’s cross country team, Chris Hope of the football team, Louise
Wright from the women’s golf team, Kevin Zuelch of the men’s golf team,
Ashley Halter from the soccer team, Andrea Lyons from the softball team,
Maria Toole of the women’s swimming and diving team, Kevin Flanagan from
the men’s swimming and diving team, Ali Weber of the women’s tennis team,
Ty Braswell from the men’s tennis team, Kerry Miano of the women’s track
and field team, Mason Yost from the men’s track and field team and Sarah
Rickertsen from the volleyball team.

In 1998-99, Florida State set a school record with 181 ACC Honor
Roll members. Florida State Athletics Director Dave Hart, Jr., Director of
Athletic Academic Support Mark Meleney, Dean of Undergraduate Studies Dr.
Sandra Rackley and the President of Seminole Boosters Andy Miller were all
in attendance to honor FSU’s student-athletes. The Keynote Speaker for the
Gala was former Seminole Boosters President Sherman Henderson. The award
winners will be honored again during halftime of a men’s basketball game
later this year.

Related Articles