April 24, 2007 - by
Atlantic Coast Conference Announces Outdoor All-ACC Honorees

April 24, 2007

Tallahassee, FL – The Seminoles had a strong showing at the outdoor Atlantic Coast Conference Championships April 19 through 21 at the University of Maryland’s Kehoe Track in College Park, Md. The men took home their third consecutive conference championship as well as five individual ACC titles, while the women finished third and grabbed titles in two individual events and the 4x400m relay. In all, nine women and 13 men from Florida State were named to the All-Atlantic Coast Conference team.

All-ACC honors go to the top three in each event and this season the Seminole men, who are ranked No. 1 in both the USTFCCCA and TrackWire polls this week, had the most recipients overall.

Junior Walter Dix took home two gold medals with his stellar performance in the 200 meters and the 400-meter relay, making him a five-time outdoor ACC Champion. His 20.19 mark in the 200 and 38.78 in the 4×100 set new ACC meet records and are currently the top times in the nation.

Completing the relay team were senior Greg Bolden, junior Michael Ray Garvin, and freshman Charles Clark, and are now the new school record holders in the 4x100m. Bolden and Clark also received silver medals for their performance in the 100 and 200 meters, respectively.

Junior Ricardo Chambers defended his 400 meter title after running 46 seconds flat in the finals. Winning the 3,000 meter steeplechase for the second consecutive year was senior Andrew Lemoncello whose time of 8:36.48 moved him to the No. 2 position in the nation.

Also a repeat champion this year was senior Tom Lancashire in the 1,500 meters. Lancashire’s time of 3:44.08 earned his third consecutive conference title in the 1,500.

Fifth-year senior Matt Hurley made a huge comeback from finishing third in the pole last season to winning the event this year with a height of 17’2.75″.

For the women’s squad, seniors Barbara Parker and Alyce Williams and the 4×400 meter relay all gave championship performances in Maryland this year.

Parker’s 9:56.29 clock in the 3,000 meter steeplechase not only set the new ACC meet record, but also broke the Florida State school record of 10:09.90 originally set by Helen Hofstede in 2004.

Williams had a season-best leap of 43’0.50″ in the triple jump to claim the gold and also finished fourth in the long jump.

The women’s championship 1600-meter relay team of juniors Keyla Smith and Kandia Batchelor, and seniors Dana Massiah and Alycia Williams also set a new conference meet record of 3:32.11. Williams also took the bronze in the 400-meters in 53.33.

Men’s All-ACC:
Greg Bolden – 100m (2), 4x100m (1)
Drew Brunson – 110m hurdles (2)
Tywayne Buchanan – 400m (3)
Ricardo Chambers – 400m (1)
Charles Clark – 200m (2), 4x100m (1)
Walter Dix – 200m (1), 4x100m (1)
Javier Garcia-Tunon – 110m hurdles (3)
Michael Ray Garvin – 4x100m (1)
Matt Hurley – pole vault (1)
Kenny Jesensky – 800m (3)
Tom Lancashire – 1,500m (1)
Andrew Lemoncello – 3,000m steeplechase (1)
Elliott Wood – 400m hurdles (3)

Women’s All-ACC
Tori Allen – pole vault (3)
Kandia Batchelor – 4x400m relay (1)
Dana Massiah – 4x400m relay (1)
Barbara Parker – 3,000m steeplechase (1)
Sarah Reed – shot put (2)
Keyla Smith – 4x400m relay (1)
Tiara Swanagan – triple jump (3), high jump (3)
Alyce Williams – triple jump (1)
Alycia Williams – 4x400m relay (1), 400m (3)

Related Articles