February 27, 2002 - by
Atlantic Coast Conference Names 2002 Weaver-James-Corrigan Postgraduate Scholarship Recipients

Atlantic Coast Conference Names 2002 Weaver-James-Corrigan Postgraduate Scholarship Recipients

/graphics/spacer.gif” width=5 height=4 border=0> Senior Alida Gallovits was one of three Seminoles awarded the scholarship.
/graphics/spacer.gif” width=1 height=4 border=0>

Senior Alida Gallovits was one of three Seminoles awarded the scholarship.

Feb. 27, 2002

GREENSBORO, N.C. – Florida State seniors Alida Gallovits (women’s tennis), Chris Hope (football) and Christian Bland (men’s track) were three of nineteen Atlantic Coast Conference scholar-athletes have been named recipients of the 2002 Weaver-James-Corrigan Postgraduate Awards, as announced by Commissioner John Swofford. The scholarships are given to selected student-athletes who have academic work as full-time graduate students. Each recipient will receive $5,000 to use towards their graduate education. Each student-athlete has performed with distinction both in the intentions of continuing classroom and in their respective sports, and demonstrated exemplary conduct in the community.

The awards are named in honor of the late Jim Weaver and Bob James as well as Gene Corrigan, past ACC commissioners. The league’s first commissioner, James H. Weaver, served the conference from 1954 to 1970 after serving as the director of athletics at Wake Forest University. His early leadership and uncompromising integrity is largely responsible for the excellent reputation enjoyed by the ACC today. Bob James, a former University of Maryland football player, was name commissioner in 1971 and served for 16 years. During his tenure, the league continued to grow in stature and became recognized as a national leader in academics and athletics, winning 23 national championships while maintaining excellence in the classroom. Eugene F. Corrigan assumed his role as the third full-time commissioner on September 1, 1987 and served until August of 1997. During Corrigan’s tenure ACC schools have captured 30 NCAA national championships and two national football titles. In the fall of 1990, Corrigan engineered the successful addition of the league’s newest member, Florida State

Prior to 1994, the Weaver-James postgraduate scholarships had been given as separate honors. The Jim Weaver award originated in 1970 to honor exceptional achievement on the playing field and in the classroom, while the Bob James award started in 1987 also to honor outstanding student-athletes.

Clemson, Duke, Florida State and Maryland led the league in selections this year with a total of three. Georgia Tech had two student athletes selected while North Carolina, NC State, Virginia and Wake Forest each had one representative on the list of honorees. The 19 students will be honored Tuesday, April 4, 2000, in Greensboro, N.C. at a luncheon hosted by the Nat Greene Kiwanis.

The following are the bios of the Florida State recipients:

Alida Gallovits, Women’s Tennis, Timisorara, Romania

Golden Nole Award winner as the team MVP…Was All-ACC for the third consecutive year…Made her second appearance in the NCAA Individual Championships…Was the runner-up for the No. 1 singles flight award with a 5-2 record at that position…Named to the ACC Academic Honor Roll in 2001… Started 2001 preseason ranked No. 39 in the ITA singles rankings and held a position as high as 38th throughout the season.

Chris Hope, Football, Rock Hill, SC

Has earned All-ACC honors twice, first-team as a senior and second-team as a junior…earned a NCAA post-graduate scholarship award to further his studies this fall…One of the team captains this year…Two-time first-team Academic All-American…Started all 11 games as a senior and his last 25 as a Seminole…Finished his career with 234 tackles and nine interceptions.

Christian Bland, Men’s Track & Field, Lawrenceville, Ga.

Jumped a career-best 7-01.75 for a second-place finish at the Georgia Bulldog Invitational…Finished fourth at the 2001 ACC Indoor Championships…Cleared 7-1 at the USATF Indoor Championships… Matched that mark earlier in the season at the conference championships which earned him an ACC Indoor crown…Was All-ACC for both the 2000 indoor and outdoor seasons as well as a national qualifier in the high jump.

Related Articles