January 16, 2011 - by
Awards Night

Jan. 16, 2011

TALLAHASSEE, Fla. – Florida State football coach Jimbo Fisher put the final touches on the 2010 season Sunday night at the University Center, recognizing the most outstanding Seminoles during the annual awards banquet.

Unanimous All-American senior guard Brandon Jenkins claimed the evening’s top honors as the Most Valuable Players on offense and defense, respectively. Sophomore kicker Dustin Hopkins and junior punter Shawn Powell were selected as the Most Valuable Players on special teams.

Among the many awards presented during the two-hour program, Fisher announced the permanent captains for 2010 were seniors Christian Ponder, Hudson, Kendall Smith, Markus White and Ochuko Jenije.

Fisher capped the evening by recognizing the senior class, which played a significant role in delivering the Seminoles their first 10-win season since 2003, their first sweep of Miami and Florida since 1999, an ACC Atlantic Division title and a Chick-fil-A Bowl victory over South Carolina.

In his closing comments, Fisher commended the seniors for setting the standard that the future players should aspire and issuing a challenge.

“The future begins now,” Fisher said, adding that the work that will be done between today and August will determine the level of success the Seminoles can have in 2011.

Master of ceremonies Tom Block finished the night by noting that the spring game was just three months away and the 2011 season opener, only 229 days out.

The 2010 Florida State football award winner recognized in the banquet were:

Bob Crenshaw Award: Andrew Datko
Don Powell Award: Ryan McMahon
Bill McGrotha Award: Christian Ponder
Devaughn Darling Award: Christian Jones
Defensive Warrior: Kendall Smith
Offensive Warrior: Lonnie Pryor
Top Conditioned Athlete: Chris Thompson
Offensive Scout Team Players of the Year: Daniel Monroe,Jonathan Wallace
Defensive Scout Team Players of the Year: Neil Goldsmith, Holmes Onwukaife
Special Teams Newcomers of the Year: Telvin Smith, Lamarcus Joyner
Special Teams Most Valuable Players: Dustin Hopkins, Shawn Powell
Top Newcomer, Offense: Bryan Stork
Top Newcomers, Defense: Xavier Rhodes, Mike Harris
Most Improved Player, Offense: Chris Thompson
Most Improved Players, Defense: Kendall Smith, Anthony McCloud
Attitude Award, Offense: EJ Manuel
Attitude Award, Defense: Ochuko Jenije
Leadership Award, Offense: Christian Ponder
Leadership Award, Defense: Markus White
Skill Blocker Award: Taiwan Easterling, Lonnie Pryor
Mr. Versatile: Greg Reid
Most Valuable Player, Offense: Rodney Hudson
Most Valuable Player, Defense: Brandon Jenkins

2010 Permanent Captains: Christian Ponder, Rodney Hudson, Kendall Smith, Markus White, Ochuko Jenije


Related Articles