November 18, 2016 - by
Bacon Named To Wooden Award Watch List

TALLAHASSEE, Fla. — ( – Dwayne Bacon, who is averaging a team-leading 16.5 points and 6.0 rebounds through the first two games of the 2016-17 season has been named to the John R. Wooden Award Preseason Top 50 list.  The list was compiled by a panel of college basketball experts and is a list of the early candidates for the college basketball’s most prestigious honor.

Bacon (Lakeland, Fla.) is a candidate for the Wooden and Naismith awards as the best player and the Julius Erving Award as the nation’s top small forward in college basketball.

Bacon was named to the Kyle Macy Freshman All-American team and was on the Wayman Tisdale (top freshman in college basketball) and Jerry West (top shooting guard) award watch lists in his first season as a Seminole in 2015-16.  He became the first freshman in school history to lead Florida State in both scoring and rebound in his first season of collegiate basketball.

Bacon scored 23 points in Florida State’s season-opening victory over Charleston Southern and scored 10 points in the Seminoles’ win over Iona.  Bacon and the Seminoles begin play in the NIT Season Tip-Off against Winthrop on Friday night at 7:00 p.m. at the Donald L. Tucker Center in Tallahassee before hosting Detroit Mercy on Sunday at 5:00 p.m.  Florida State will play Temple at the Barclays Center in Brooklyn, N.Y. on Thanksgiving Day (Nov. 24) at 12:30 p.m.

Bacon Named To Wooden Award Watch List

Bacon established Florida State freshmen records for total points scored (536), points scored per game (15.8), field goals made (197), field goals attempted (441) and free throws made (110) as he enjoyed one of the most prolific seasons by any Seminole player in school history.  He earned All-ACC Freshman Team honors as selected by both the 15 ACC coaches and the Atlantic Coast Sports Media Association.  Bacon led the ACC and set the Florida State record as he earned ACC Rookie of the Week honors an incredible five times during his first season as a Seminole.

Bacon is one of 12 players from the ACC on the Wooden List.  The ACC leads all conferences with 12 players on the list — followed by the Big Ten (10), Pac-12 (seven), Big 12 (six), Big East (five) and the SEC (five). The Atlantic 10 Conference has two selections and the Horizon League, The American and WCC have one player each on the list.

The 41st annual presentation of the John R. Wooden Award to the most outstanding men’s basketball player will be the anchor presentation of the ESPN College Basketball Awards Show presented by Wendy’s on Friday, April 7, 2017.  Oklahoma’s Buddy Hield won the 2016 Wooden Award.

2016-John R. Wooden Award College Basketball Player of the Year Watch List
Player, Class, Year, School
Dwayne Bacon, So., Florida State
Jaylen Adams, St. Bonaventure
Bam Adebayo, Fr., Kentucky
Grayson Allen, Jr., Duke
Jarrett Allen, Fr., Texas
Lonzo Ball, Fr., UCLA
V.J. Beachem, Sr., Notre Dame
Joell Berry II, Jr., North Carolina
James Blackmon, Jr., Indiana
Antonio Blakeney, Louisiana State
Jaron Blossomgame, Sr., Clemson
Trevon Bluiett, Jr., Xavier
Chris Boucher, Sr., Oregon
Miles Bridges, Fr., Michigan State
Dillon Brooks, Jr., Oregon
Thomas Bryant, So., Indiana
Tyler Davis, So., Texas A&M
Jawun Evans, So., Oklahoma State
De’Aaron Fox, Fr., Kentucky
Markelle Fultz, Fr., Washington
Jack Gibbs, Sr., Davidson
Harry Giles, Fr., Duke
Devonte’ Graham, Jr., Kansas
Ethan Happ, R-So., Wisconsin
Josh Hart, Sr., Villanova
Nigel Hayes, Sr., Wisconsin
Malcolm Hill, Sr., Illinois
Josh Jackson, Fr., Kansas
Justin Jackson, Jr., North Carolina
Kris Jenkins, Sr., Villanova
Peter Jok, Sr., Iowa
Moses Kinglsey, Sr., Arkansas
Bronson Koenig, Sr., Wisconsin
Dedric Lawson, So., Memphis
Tyler Lydon, So., Syracuse
Lauri Markkanen, Fr., Arizona
Frank Mason III, Sr., Kansas
Malik Monk, Fr., Kentucky
Monte Morris, Sr., Iowa State
Austin Nichols, Jr., Virginia
London Perrantes, Sr., Virginia
Alec Peters, Sr., Valparaiso
Ivan Rabb, So., California
Dennis Smith, Fr., NC State
Edmond Sumner, So., Xavier
Caleb Swanigan, So., Purdue
Jayson Tatum, Fr., Duke
Melo Trimble, Jr., Maryland
Maurice Watson, Sr., Creighton
Nigel Williams-Goss, Jr., Gonzaga

Related Articles