June 26, 2018
Basketball To Face UConn In Never Forget Tribute Classic

TALLAHASSEE, Fla. (seminoles.com) – The Florida State Men’s Basketball team will face UConn in the Third Annual Never Forget Tribute Classic on Dec. 8, 2018 at the Prudential Center in Newark, N.J. The Seminoles’ game against the Huskies is part of a doubleheader in the one-day, one-game event for all four teams.

The Seminoles’ game against the Huskies marks the eighth game in the history of the series, with Florida State holding a 4-3 advantage. The Seminoles and Huskies met most recently on Nov. 26, 2011 when the Huskies took a 78-76 overtime win in the second round of the Second Annual Battle for Atlantis at the famed Atlantis Hotel on Paradise Island in the Bahamas. Connecticut is coached by Danny Hurley who is in his first season as the Huskies head coach. Florida State’s game against UConn at the Prudential Center in Newark marks the second consecutive season the Seminoles will play a game in New Jersey. The Seminoles won at Rutgers, 78-73, in the ACC – Big Ten Challenge on Nov. 28, 2017 in Piscataway, N.J.

“This is a great game for us to play against a program that is one of the best in college basketball,” said Seminole Head Coach Leonard Hamilton. “They’ve won four NCAA Championships, seven Big East Championships and are among the top teams in the country every year. Playing a game against UConn in December on a neutral court will be great for our guys because it will certainly have a postseason feel to it.”

In adding UConn to its non-conference schedule of games, Florida State’s overall schedule is becoming one of the most challenging in college basketball for the upcoming season. The Seminoles open their season against NCAA Tournament participant Florida (Nov. 6), could play NCAA Champion Villanova, LSU, Memphis and/or Oklahoma State in the AdvoCare Invitational (Nov. 22-25), will play host to NCAA Tournament No. 2 seed Purdue in the ACC Big Ten Challenge (Nov. 28), and will play 2018 NCAA Tournament teams Clemson, Duke, Miami, North Carolina, NC State, Syracuse, Virginia and Virginia Tech during ACC play.

With Florida State advancing to the Elite Eight of the 2018 NCAA Tournament, the ACC tied a league record as it sent nine teams to the Big Dance. The Seminoles were one of only three teams that advanced at least as far as the Sweet 16 (Florida State, Clemson, North Carolina) and were one of only two ACC teams that advanced to the Elite Eight (Duke).

Florida State’s full non-conference schedule is expected to be released in late July with its full schedule of ACC and non-conference games released in early September.

Related Articles