April 9, 2014 - by
Blixt Set For First Masters Appearance

April 9, 2014

TALLAHASSEE, Fla. – Former Seminole Jonas Blixt makes his debut in the 2014 Masters Tournament in Augusta, Ga., April 10-13. He is one of 11 competitors from the Atlantic Coast Conference which is the most from any conference in the country.

Blixt earned his spot with a top-four finish at the 2013 PGA Championship in his second career start in a major. He has won two PGA titles, the 2012 Frys.com Open and the 2013 Greenbrier Classic. The Sweden native has played in 11 PGA events this year and has finished in the top 25 four times.

“After spending some time with Jonas last night and today I’m very impressed with the consummate professional that he has become,” said head coach Trey Jones. “But more importantly he is still the same person that he was when he came to Florida State at 18 years old. His game is well suited to Augusta National as chipping and putting is his strong suit. He was very professional during his practice today and I am really looking forward to watching him have a great week.”

Blixt tees off at 8:07 a.m. Thursday with two-time Masters Champion Ben Crenshaw and Y.E. Yang of South Korea. The event can be watched online at cbssports.com and beginning Saturday it will be shown live on CBS.

Blixt is the first Florida State player since 2009 to make an appearance at the Masters. Former Seminole Drew Kittleson qualified in 2009 as a sophomore at Florida State by finishing second at the U.S. Amateur earlier that year.

Florida State golfers have won four major championships, Hubert Green the 1977 U.S. Open and the 1985 PGA Championship, Paul Azinger the 1993 PGA Championship and Jeff Sluman the 1988 PGA Championship.

Four golfers from current ACC schools have won a combined seven Masters. Wake Forest’s Arnold Palmer has won four times, which is tied for the second-most in history with Stanford’s Tiger Woods behind only Ohio State’s Jack Nicklaus with six. Duke’s Art Wall, Jr., Georgia Tech’s Larry Mize and North Carolina’s Raymond Floyd have also been victorious in Augusta.

Joining Blixt from the ACC this year are Georgia Tech’s Matt Kuchar, Stewart Cink, Roberto Castro and Mize, Wake Forest’s Webb Simpson and Bill Haas, Clemson’s Lucas Glover, NC State’s Tim Clark, Duke’s Kevin Streelman and Virginia Tech’s Brendon de Jonge.

Check back to Seminoles.com for all your information on the golf team and follow the team at twitter.com/fsugolf.


Related Articles