December 22, 2000 - by
Bowl Notes–FSU Football Game Notes For National Championship Game

Dec. 22, 2000

Complete Release in PDF Format
Download Free Acrobat Reader


The Orange Bowl has been the setting
for some tremendous wins and devastating
losses for Florida State. The Seminoles won
their first national championship at the Orange
Bowl following the 1993 season when
Scott Bentley drilled a 22-yard field goal with
21 second left to defeat Nebraska. The Orange
Bowl was also host to an undefeated (11-
0) FSU team in 1980 (1979 season) that
squared off against Oklahoma and Heisman
Trophy winner Billy Simms. The Sooners’
J.C. Watts and Simms led OU to a 24-7 win.
Florida State will be making it’s sixth
trip to the Orange Bowl making it the most
frequent bowl visited by FSU. However, it
is FSU’s first invitation to the game since the
1995 match-up against Notre Dame. The
`Noles played in the Orange Bowl game in
1979 (losing to Oklahoma 24-7), 1980 (losing
to Oklahoma again 18-17), 1993 (defeating
Nebraska 27-14) and 1994 (defeating
Nebraska 18-16 for the national title) and in
1995 when they defeated Notre Dame 31-26.


Florida State is playing in it’s third consecutive
BCS national title game and for the
national championship for the fifth time in
the last eight seasons. The bad news for opponents
is that the Seminoles are 13-2 over
the last 15 bowl games. The only losses came
against Tennessee in the 1999 Fiesta Bowl
and Florida in the 1997 Sugar Bowl.
While FSU is one of the youngest Div.
1A football programs at just 54-years-old, the
Seminoles have established themselves as one
of college football’s all-time great programs.
The 2001 FedEx Orange Bowl is the 30 th bowl
in the `Noles history, and FSU has posted an
18-9-2 record over those games.
the last team to win at Doak Campbell Stadium
as the Hurricanes defeated top-ranked
FSU, 17-16, on Nov. 16, 1991. Seminole
placekicker Gerry Thomas’ 34-yard field goal
with less than 30 seconds to play sailed wide
right, allowing the `Canes to win that game.
FSU’s 28-point fourth quarter rally to tie
Florida, 31-31, in 1994 continued the home
unbeaten streak.

Related Articles