November 27, 2002 - by
Brett Williams and Anquan Boldin Receive ACC Awards

Nov. 27, 2002

Greensboro, NC — For the second year in a row, Florida State offensive tackle Brett Williams has been awarded the Jacobs Blocking Trophy, Atlantic Coast Conference Commissioner John Swofford announced today. A second Seminole was also honored by the ACC as junior wide receiver Anquan Boldin has been selected as the winner of the 2002 Brian Piccolo Award.

The Jacobs Blocking Trophy has been awarded annually since 1953 to the player voted the most outstanding blocker in the ACC by a poll of the league’s defensive coordinators. The trophy is given in memory of William P. Jacobs, who served as president of Presbyterian College from 1935 to 1945.

Williams, a dominating offensive tackle who has started in each of his four years at Florida State, had one of the most impressive seasons ever by a Seminole offensive lineman.

The Kissimmee, Fla., senior was named ACC Offensive Lineman of the Week following the Maryland game on Sept. 14, and has been a key offensive line performer for the league’s top offense. Williams is a four-time All-ACC honoree, earning second-team honors in 1999 and 2000 to go along with his first-team selections in each of the past two years.

He is the fifth Florida State player to win the Jacobs Blocking Trophy and the eighth player in the league to earn it in back-to-back seasons.

Florida State’s Anquan Boldin has been selected as the winner of the 2002 Brian Piccolo Award while Georgia Tech’s Jeremy Muyres is the recipient of the league’s Jim Tatum Award, Atlantic Coast Conference Commissioner John Swofford announced today.

The Piccolo Award has been given annually since 1972 in memory of the late Brian Piccolo to the “most courageous” football player in the ACC. Piccolo was the ACC Athlete of the Year in 1965 and played for the Chicago Bears before his career was cut short when he was stricken with cancer. His courageous fight against that disease was an inspiration to the Bears and the entire football community.

The Tatum Award is given annually in memory of the late Jim Tatum to the top senior student-athlete among the league’s football players. Tatum, a two-time ACC Coach of the Year, coached in the fifties at both Maryland and North Carolina and believed strongly in the concept of the student-athlete.

A junior wide receiver for the ACC Champion Seminoles, Boldin sustained a severe injury to his left knee on August 18, 2001. More specifically, he suffered a complete tear of his anterior cruciate ligament, medial collateral ligament, medial menicus and lateral menicus. The Pahokee, Fla., product underwent extensive rehabilitation for 20 weeks following the injury. He followed a schedule that included treatment and rehabilitation two to three times daily.

Despite the severe left knee injury, Boldin participated in all non-contact spring drills and did not miss any practices, including two-a-days. Boldin currently leads the ACC in touchdown receptions with 10 and is fourth in the ACC in receptions (54) and receiving yardage (876).

Muyres, a 2002 All-ACC first-team defensive back, was named to the 2002 Verizon Academic All-District III Team and was a member of the Academic All-ACC Football Team in 2000 and 2001. He was twice named ACC Defensive Back of the Week this season and ranks second in Georgia Tech history in career tackles by a defensive back with 256. A two-time second-team All-ACC performer in 2000 and 2001, Muyres is third in the ACC and 23rd nationally in interceptions per game (0.45).

A native of Stone Mountain, Ga., Muyres is a two-year member of the Georgia Tech Student-Athlete Advisory Board and was the 2002-03 recipient of the Bobby Dodd Scholarship as the Institute’s top male scholar-athlete. He is a four-year starter for the Yellow Jackets and has maintained a career GPA of 3.33.

Related Articles