May 17, 2007 - by
Bryan Henry Named Semifinalist for Roger Clemens Award

May 17, 2007

Tallahassee, Fla. – Florida State’s Bryan Henry was named a semifinalist for the Roger Clemens Award presented to the top collegiate pitcher as announced on Thursday, May 17. Henry enters the final week of the regular season with a record of 13-0 in 15 starts while posting an ERA of 2.47. Of the 10 semifinalists in the running for this prestigious award in 2007, Henry leads all candidates in wins.

Henry has put together one of the finest seasons in Florida State history. He is currently tied for the national lead in wins and ranks 19th in strikeouts with 102. The Tallahassee, Fla., native leads the ACC in victories, innings pitched (98.1) and total strikeouts, ranks third in ERA, fourth in strikeouts per game (9.34) and fifth in opponents batting average (.230).

With a victory over Clemson on May 11, Henry became just the eighth pitcher to reach the 13-win plateau in a single season since Florida State joined the ACC back in 1992. Henry also became the first pitcher to 13 wins since Matt Lynch posted a 13-4 mark in 2003.

The senior right hander has posted at least seven or more strikeouts in 10 of his last 15 starts this season and in nine of his last 11 outings. He has allowed a run or less in nine of his 15 starts and has pitched a season-high eight innings five times including four starts in league play.

Ten student-athletes were selected during the first round of voting, which ended on May 14. Voters included all Division 1 head baseball coaches, a selection of national media who cover collegiate baseball, the 16 winners of the R. E. “Bob” Smith Award, which was presented to the top player in the country here in Houston from 1988-2003, and the 10 previous finalists for the Clemens Award. Voting for the second round will begin on May 28, with the announcement of the three finalists set for June 7. Jered Weaver of Long Beach State (2004), Luke Hochevar of Tennessee (2005) and Andrew Miller (North Carolina) were the first three winners of the Clemens Award.

The Roger Clemens Award was named after future Hall of Famer Roger Clemens, who began his march to stardom while leading the University of Texas to the College World Series title in 1983. As a professional, Clemens has won 348 games (eighth best in history), fanned more than 4,600 batters and won seven Cy Young Awards, emblematic as the top pitcher in his league. The Roger Clemens Award is the only award of its kind, honoring the finest pitchers in college baseball.

The 2007 semifinalists are Adrian Alaniz of Texas, Barry Enright of Pepperdine, Preston Guilmet of Arizona, Bryan Henry of Florida State, Brian Matusz of San Diego, Adam Mills of Charlotte, Kyle Nicholson of Texas A&M, David Price of Vanderbilt, Nick Schmidt of Arkansas, and Jacob Thompson of Virginia. This group includes three seniors, four juniors and three sophomores. Six of the 10 throw right-handed.

Related Articles