December 2, 2014 - by
Brynjarsdottir, Grubka Named Hermann Trophy Semifinalists

TALLAHASSEE, Fla. – Florida State’s Dagny Brynjarsdottir and Kristin Grubka were recognized as semifinalists for the 2014 Missouri Athletic Club’s (MAC) Hermann Trophy. The National Soccer Coaches Association of America (NSCAA) unveiled the 16 semifinalists on Tuesday afternoon.

The MAC Hermann Trophy is the highest individual award in collegiate soccer. Recipients of the award are selected by head coaches of NCAA Division I programs who are members of the NSCAA.

NCAA Division I coaches who are NSCAA members may vote for their top choices starting Tuesday, December 2 through Tuesday, December 11. Soccer fans can also let their collective voice be heard by voting for their favorite player on the MAC’s website hosted by LockerDome, starting Tuesday, December 2.

Fans are encouraged to go online and vote for Brynjarsdottir and Grubka beginning Tuesday, December 2. Vote online here.

The top three vote-getters for each gender from the combined NSCAA coaches and weighted fan votes will be announced in mid-December, followed by the announcement of the winners at the Missouri Athletic Club banquet on January 9, 2015.

Both Brynjarsdottir and Grubka have played key roles in leading Florida State to its fourth straight College Cup appearance, back-to-back ACC titles and three in the last four years and second regular season league title in three years.

“I’m thrilled for both Dagny and Grubs,” Florida State head coach Mark Krikorian said. “Both have had very good years and have played a major role in the success of our team so far this year. I am just very glad that both Dagny and Grubs are getting the recognition that they have worked so hard to achieve.”

Brynjarsdottir is the third Seminole to claim ACC Offensive Player of the Year honors as she joins past recipients Mami Yamaguchi (2007) and Tiffany McCarty (2009). The senior captain currently leads the Seminoles in points (38), goals (16), shots (85) and game-winning goals (5). She has set single-season career-highs for shots, goals and points in 2014.

“Dagny has become such a big game player for us scoring a lot of important goals for us not only this year but throughout her career,” said Krikorian. “She has really developed into one of the top midfielder players in the country.”

The Icelandic native ranks in the top 10 in the ACC in eight offensive categories while leading in shots per game and tied for first in game-winning goals. Brynjarsdottir paced the Seminoles during league play with 17 points on seven goals and three assists including three game-winning goals that came against Virginia, Virginia Tech and Pitt.  She enters the College Cup with a team-high six multi-point games. Brynjarsdottir tied a career-high scoring two goals twice (against St. John’s & NC State) and also tied a career-high against South Carolina with just her second two-assist game. Through the first four NCAA Tournament games in 2014, the Seminole senior captain has tallied seven points on two goals and three assists.

For the second straight year, Florida State was recognized with the ACC’s top defensive player. A year after Kassey Kallman became the first Seminole to win the award, Grubka followed as this year’s honoree after leading a defensive unit that has allowed just nine goals through 24 matches this year.

“Grubs has been an anchor and a tower of strength for us in the backline,” added Krikorian. “Her will to win, her determination and fight are second to none.”

Two of the goals FSU allowed came against league foes to set a school record for the fewest goals allowed in ACC play surpassing the previous record of four set in 2012. The nine goals allowed in 2014 are the fewest given up in a single season since FSU allowed a low of 15 in 2008 & 2012. The 17 shutouts FSU has posted in 2014 ties the school record set in 2012.

With her start against South Carolina in the Elite Eight, Grubka tied the school record for consecutive matches started at 87 – a streak dating back to her freshman campaign in 2011. She is also the school’s all-time career leader in appearances with 102. Grubka currently ranks third on the team in minutes played with 2,165. The Melbourne, Fla., native has paced a Seminole backline that ranks first in the ACC in shutouts (17), shutouts per game (0.71), fewest goals allowed and goals against average (0.37). Grubka has also contributed offensively with 11 points on three goals and five assists in 2014.

Florida State is one of three schools (Virginia & UCLA) to have multiple semifinalists in the running for the Hermann Trophy in 2014. It also marks the fourth time the Seminoles have landed two semifinalists in the same year and the first time since Ines Jaurena and Tiffany McCarty were honored as semifinalists in 2011.

This is the fourth consecutive season that at least one Seminole has been named a semifinalist for the Hermann Trophy.

In 2007, Mami Yamaguchi won the MAC Hermann Trophy, the first and only player in school history to win the award. Yamaguchi led the country in points that season with 66, while finishing second in goals (24) and assists (18).

2014 MAC Hermann Trophy Semifinalist

Janine Beckie, Jr., F, Texas Tech
Morgan Brian, Sr., MF, Virginia
Dagny Brynjarsdottir, Sr., MF, Florida State
Kadeisha Buchanan, So., D, West Virginia
Whitney Church, Sr., D, Penn State
Danielle Colaprico, Sr., MF, Virginia
Daphne Corboz, Sr., MF, Georgetown
Abby Dahlkemper, Sr., D, UCLA
Makenzy Doniak, Jr., F, Virginia
Shea Groom, Sr., MF, Texas A&M
Kristin Grubka, Sr., D, Florida State
Kelsey Haycook, Sr., F, La Salle
Savannah Jordan, So., F, Florida
Lo’eau LaBonta, Sr., MF, Stanford
Samantha Mewis, Sr., MF, UCLA
Lynn Williams, Sr., F, Pepperdine


Related Articles