December 12, 2014 - by
Brynjarsdottir Named MAC Hermann Trophy Finalist

TALLAHASSEE, Fla. – The good news continues to pour in for the Florida State women’s soccer team after the Seminoles claimed their first national title in program history just a week ago down in Boca Raton. On Friday, senior captain Dagny Brynjarsdottir was named a finalist for the MAC Hermann Trophy as announced by the Missouri Athletic Club and the National Soccer Coaches Association of America (NSCAA).

The MAC Hermann Trophy is the highest individual award in collegiate soccer. Recipients of the award are selected by head coaches of NCAA Division I programs who are members of the NSCAA.

Brynjarsdottir is one of three finalists on the women’s side as she will be joined in Missouri with Virginia’s Morgan Brian and UCLA’s Sam Mewis.

Brynjarsdottir is just the second Seminole player to be named a finalist for the prestigious award and the first since junior forward Mami Yamaguchi took home the award in 2007.

The Icelandic native finished the 2014 campaign leading the Seminoles in points (38), goals (16) and shots (87) and tied for the team lead with five game-winning goals. She went on to set single-season career-highs for shots, goals and points this past year.

Brynjarsdottir was also recently named a finalist for the Honda Sports Award and has garnered NSCAA first team All-America, ACC Offensive Player of the Year, first-team All-ACC and ACC Tournament MVP accolades this season.

The Seminole midfielder ranked in the top 10 in the ACC in eight offensive categories leading in shots per game and tied for first in game-winning goals. Brynjarsdottir paced the Seminoles during league play with 17 points on seven goals and three assists including three game-winning goals that came against Virginia, Virginia Tech and Pitt.

Brynjarsdottir wrapped up the season with a team-high six multi-point games. She tied a career-high scoring two goals twice (against St. John’s & NC State) and also tied a career-high against South Carolina with just her second two-assist game. She walked away with a spot on the College Cup All-Tournament Team after tallying seven points on two goals and three assists during FSU’s postseason run.

Over her four-year career at Florida State, Brynjarsdottir ranks first all-time in career game-winning goals (19) and second in career points (111), goals (44) and shots (232). She led the Seminoles to four College Cup appearances, three ACC titles, two ACC regular season championships and a berth in back-to-back NCAA finals.

Both the women’s and men’s winner of the 2014 MAC Hermann Trophy will be announced at the Missouri Athletic Club banquet on January 9, 2015.


Related Articles