June 4, 2018 - by
Buckley On College Football Hall Of Fame Ballot

TALLAHASSEE, Fla. – Florida State legend Terrell Buckley is one of 76 former FBS players on the 2019 ballot for induction into the College Football Hall of Fame released Monday by the National Football Foundation and the College Football Hall of Fame.

Buckley authored one of the best careers in FSU history while playing cornerback from 1989-91. During his three-year career he broke nearly all of the program’s interception records and still holds records for single-season interceptions with 12 and career interceptions with 21, which is tied for 10th all-time in FBS history. His 501 career interception return yards still stand as the NCAA record, and he added seven career touchdowns with four interception return scores and three punt return touchdowns.

Buckley was a consensus All-American, won the Jim Thorpe Award and finished seventh in the Heisman Trophy vote in 1991. In recognition of his accomplishments, he was inducted into the Florida State Hall of Fame in 2003 and in 2011 his No. 27 jersey was retired.

Following his FSU career, he was taken fifth overall in the 1992 NFL Draft by the Green Bay Packers to start a 15-year NFL career that included 50 interceptions and a win in Super Bowl XXXVI with the New England Patriots one week after grabbing an interception in the AFC Championship Game to help secure a 24-17 victory.

To be eligible for College Football Hall of Fame consideration, players must have received first-team All-America honors and completed their final collegiate season between 10 and 50 years ago. Additionally, the committee weighs a player’s post-football record as a citizen and gives consideration to academic honors.

There are currently eight former Seminoles in the College Football Hall of Fame. Linebacker Derrick Brooks was inducted in 2016, cornerback Deion Sanders was inducted in 2011 and nose guard Ron Simmons was a 2009 inductee. The class of 2006 featured two Seminoles in head coach Bobby Bowden and quarterback Charlie Ward. Head coach Darrell Mudra was inducted in 2000, wide receiver Fred Biletnikoff was inducted in 1991, and in 1988 wide receiver Ron Sellers became FSU’s first member of the hall of fame.

The class will be announced Jan. 7, 2019, in Santa Clara, California, site of the College Football Playoff National Championship scheduled to be played that evening.

Related Articles