March 5, 2008 - by
Buster Posey Named To Johnny Bench Award Watch List For Second Year In A Row

March 5, 2008

Johnny Bench Watch List Release in PDF Format

Wichita, Kan. – The Greater Wichita Area Sports Commission announced the official watch list for the 2008 Coleman Company-Johnny Bench Award delivered by AT&T and Papa John’s Pizza. Thirty-six catchers from 21 conferences were nominated for the award by their coaches including Florida State junior Buster Posey. The award is given annually to the top Division I collegiate catcher. Posey was a finalist for the award a season ago.

Posey is in the midst of his second season as the Seminoles every day catcher. Last year, in his first season behind the plate, Posey earned first team All-America accolades as well as being named to the All-ACC first team. He finished the season ranked fifth in the ACC in hitting (.382), second with 21 doubles, third in hits (94) and RBIs (65) and fourth in runs scored with 66.

The Leesburg, Ga., native is off to another fine season in 2008 as he is hitting .345 with 10 hits in 29 at-bats. Posey is tied for the team lead in runs scored (13) and doubles (3) and ranks third on the squad with 10 RBIs. He is throwing out 35 percent of base runners and has registered one pickoff this year.

“It is an honor to be on the watch list for the second straight year,” said Posey. “It is early in the season and there is still a lot of baseball to be played, but it’s always an honor to be nominated for an award named after one of the greatest catchers that has played the game. At this point in the season, my teammates and I have to concentrate on going out there, playing the game and having some fun.”

The watch list will be narrowed down to 10 semi-finalists, whom will be announced May 14, 2008. Three finalists will then be announced June 3, 2008 prior to the NCAA Super Regionals and Major League Baseball Draft. A final vote among the national committee will occur during the College World Series. All finalists will be brought to Wichita where the winner will be announced at the 11th Annual Greater Wichita Sports Banquet on June 27, 2008.


Related Articles