December 10, 2019
Caffrey And Knuth Earn AVCA East All-Region Honors

TALLAHASSEE, Fla. — Along with earning a spot on the 2019 All-ACC First Team, senior Payton Caffrey and junior Taryn Knuth were each named to the 2019 AVCA East All-Region Team, as announced by the American Volleyball Coaches Association on Tuesday.

“I am really proud of these two young ladies,” said FSU head coach Chris Poole. “We had a lot of depth this year and competition within practice. Both Payton and Taryn carried a heavy load for us this season and it’s great to have two players make the All-Region team. There are so many great teams and a lot of great players, so this is a big honor for both of them.”

Caffrey led the team, and ranked second in the ACC, with 403 kills, while also adding 261 digs, 54 blocks and 18 service aces. The outside hitter recorded 11 double-doubles on the season and tallied 20 or more kills in six different matches, including 25 against UCF in the first round of the NCAA Tournament, which ranks third-most by an FSU player in a postseason match.

Knuth was named the ACC Defensive Player of the Year as the middle blocker led the conference with 160 blocks, including 25 solo blocks. She also finished with 202 kills and ranked sixth in the ACC with a .362 hitting percentage. Knuth is the NCAA active career leader in blocks per set with 1.58, and will return in 2020 as the country’s leading blocker with 510, which ranks sixth in FSU history.

Caffrey and Knuth are eligible to be named AVCA All-Americans, which will be announced by the Association on Wednesday, December 18.

Follow Florida State volleyball on Twitter (@FSU_Volleyball) and Instagram (fsuvolleyball), and like our Facebook page ( to keep up to date with everything about Seminole Volleyball.

2019 AVCA East All-Region Team
Megan Ballenger, Creighton, MB, Sr.
Maria Bellinger, Delaware, OH, Sr.
Jenna Bridges, Hartford, MB, Sr.
Payton Caffrey, Florida State, OH, Sr.
Madelyn Cole, Creighton, S, Sr.
Keeley Davis, Creighton, OH, RS-Fr.
Katie Forsythe, Loyola Maryland, L, So.
Aiko Jones, Louisville, RS, RS-Fr.
Taryn Knuth, Florida State, MB, Jr.
Zoe McBride, Morgan State, OH, So.
Polina Shemanova, Syracuse, OH, So.
Jasmin Sneed, VCU, MB, Sr.
Brittany Witt, Creighton, L, Sr.
Marrisa Wonders, Towson, S, Sr.
Honorable Mention
Frances Arnautou, Yale, S, Sr.
Olivia Finckel, Towson, RS, Sr.
Laura Masciullo, Hofstra, RS, Sr.
Zeynep Uzen, American, OH, Fr.
Olivia Wassner, American, S, Jr.
Lydia Wiers, Towson, MB, Fr.

Player of the Year: Madelyn Cole, Creighton, S, Sr.
Freshman of the Year: Lydia Wiers, Towson, MB
Coach of the Year: Don Metil, Towson

Related Articles