January 31, 2005 - by
Casey Hunter, Veronica Wootson Named To USA Softball Collegiate Player of the Year Watch List

Jan. 31, 2005

The Amateur Softball Association, the National Governing Body of Softball in the United States, announced its initial watch list for the 4th annual USA Softball Collegiate Player of the Year Award. Florida State senior pitcher Casey Hunter and sophomore second baseman Veronica Wootson made the first watch list that is comprised of 40 players that represent 23 colleges and 10 different conferences.

This award, which is considered the Heisman Trophy in women’s collegiate softball, is designed to recognize outstanding athletic achievement by female collegiate softball players across the country. Past winners of this award include UCLA’s Stacey Nuveman, Texas pitcher Cat Osterman and Florida State’s Jessica van der Linden.

A list of 25 finalists will be announced on April 5. A player does not have to be on the watch list to be considered for the top 25. But once the Top 25 is named the remaining finalist must be pared down from that list.

Veronica Wootson

Just days before the start of post-season play, a list of 10 finalists will be named and released on May 10th. The three finalists will be announced May 31st. The winner of the 2005 USA Softball Collegiate Player of the Year Award will be announced at the 2005 NCAA Women’s College World Series in Oklahoma City.

A replica of the award will be placed in a permanent display in the ASA National Softball Hall of Fame in Oklahoma City, along with photos of the winner. An additional replica of the award will be presented to the player’s academic institution.

van der Linden was selected as the 2004 winner after leading her Seminole’s to the ACC title and a berth into the Women’s College World Series.

This year’s watch list contains eight players that were among the 10 finalist in 2004 and one that is a past recipient of this award.

The Amateur Softball Association, founded in 1933, is the National Governing Body of amateur softball in the United States and a member of the United States Olympic Committee. As the National Governing Body, the ASA is responsible for identifying, selecting and training male and female athletes to compete in World, Pan American and Olympic competitions.

2005 USA Softball Collegiate Player of the Year Watch List:

(listed in alphabetical order)

Monica Abbott – Tennessee (Salinas, CA) – Sophomore

Kelly Anderson – California (Woodland, CA) – Junior

Caitlin Benyi – UCLA (Scottsdale, AZ) – Junior

Gina Carbonatto – Pacific (Lake Stevens, WA) – Sophomore

Kasi Carroll – Georgia (Norris City, IL) – Sophomore

Meredith Cervenka – Long Beach State (La Crescenta, CA) – Senior

Autumn Champion – Arizona (Tustin, CA) – Junior

Megan Ciolli – Notre Dame (Terre Haute, IN) – Senior

Christina Clark – Fresno State (Santa Ana, CA) – Junior

Ashley Courtney – Alabama (Vero Beach, FL) – Senior

Sara Dean – Auburn (Valencia, CA) – Senior

Norrelle Dickson – Oklahoma (Orange, CA) – Sophomore

Andrea Duran – UCLA (Selma, CA) – Junior

Vicky Galindo – California (Union City, CA) – Junior

Amy Harre – Southern Illinois at Carbondale (Nashville, IL) Senior

Camille Harris- LSU (Hendersonville, TN) – Junior

Alicia Hollowell – Arizona (Suisun, CA) Junior

Casey Hunter – Florida State (Millstadt, IL) – Senior

Vanessa Iapala – Oregon State (San Diego, CA) – Junior

Kami Keiter – Oklahoma (Arvada, CO) Senior

Oli Keohohou – Long Beach State (Newbury, CA) Senior

Leslie Klein – LSU (Sunrise, FL) – Sophomore

Lauren Lappin – Stanford (Anaheim, CA) – Junior

Dominique Lastrapes – Washington (Mission Viejo, CA) – Sophomore

Jodie Legaspi – UCLA (Garden Grove, CA) Sophomore

Caitlin Lowe – Arizona (Tustin, CA) Sophomore

Jessica Merchant – Michigan (Wayland, MI) – Senior

Brooke Mitchell – Louisiana Lafayette (Pasadena, TX) – Senior

Nicole Motycka – Michigan (Sarasota, FL) – Senior

Ani Nyhus – Oregon (White Rock, B.C., Canada) – Senior

Cat Osterman – Texas (Houston, TX) Junior

Jackie Rinehart – Stanford (Reno, NV) – Sophomore

Kristen Rivera – Washington (Perris, CA) – Senior

Jessica Sallinger – Georgia Tech (Kennesaw, GA) – Senior

Heather Scaglione – Oklahoma (San Diego, CA) – Senior

Jamie Southern – Fresno State (Clovis, CA) Senior

Kristina Thorson – California (Lake Forest Park, WA) Sophomore

Stephanie Van Brakle – Alabama (Chambersburg, PA) Junior

Kim Wendland – Georgia (Rock Island, IL) Senior

Veronica Wootson – Florida State (Fontana, CA)

Related Articles