April 6, 2001 - by
Chris Weinke, Shane Battier, Ali Curtis Honored As ACC Scholar Athletes

April 6, 2001

Greensboro, NC –

Three national players of the year were recognized by
the Atlantic Coast Conference as recipients of the first-ever ACC
Scholars Awards for student-athlete excellence. Duke basketball player
Shane Battier, Duke soccer player Ali Curtis and Florida State football
player Chris Weinke were honored with the awards.

The ACC Scholars Awards recognize student-athletes that have performed
with distinction in the classroom and in their respective sports and
have demonstrated exemplary conduct in the community. The awards are
reserved for graduating seniors who do not plan to attend graduate
school at this time.

Battier earned National Player of the Year honors from the Associated
Press, USBWA, Sports Illustrated, The Sporting News, ESPN.com, CBS
Sportsline and Basketball Times. He was also named the recipient of the
Naismith Award and is a finalist for the Wooden Award, both of which
also honor the nation’s top college basketball player. Battier was also
recognized as a first-team All-American by AP, NABC, USBWA, The Sporting
News, Basketball Times and CBS Sportsline. This season he became just
the fourth player in NCAA history to record more than 1,500 points, 500
rebounds, 200 assists, 200 steals and 200 blocked shots in a career.
Furthermore, Battier was named Final Four MVP as he led the Blue Devils
to the 2001 NCAA Men’s Basketball Championship.

Curtis was recognized as the 2000 Missouri Athletic Club National Player
of the Year and was the 1999 Hermann Trophy winner as National Player of
the Year and the 1999 ACC Player of the Year. Curtis is a three-time
All-American and is Duke’s career leader in goals scored with 53. Curtis
was drafted second overall in the 2000 MLS Draft by the Tampa Bay

Weinke won the 2000 Heisman Trophy, the Davey O’Brien Trophy and the
Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award. He was also honored by College Football
News as the National Player of the Year in 2000. During his career at
Florida State, Weinke led the Seminoles to the 1999 National
Championship at the Sugar Bowl and the 2000 FedEx Orange Bowl. He was a
first-team All-American and ACC Player of the Year. Weinke is also an
NCAA Postgraduate Scholarship Winner. He set a new ACC record for career
passing yards and set 26 Florida State football records.

Field hockey player Jana Toepel of the University of North Carolina also
received the ACC Scholars Award. In addition, 19 athletes, including FSU basketball
player Brooke Wycoff and swimmer Kristen Adams were awarded
Weaver-James-Corrigan Postgraduate Scholarships. Each of the scholarship
recipients received $5,000 to use toward his or her graduate education.

– ACC –

Related Articles