January 26, 2012 - by
Come Celebrate The Season!

Jan. 26, 2012

Follow the FSU Volleyball Team on Twitter: @fsu_volleyball

TALLAHASSEE, Fla. (seminoles.com) – The Florida State University indoor volleyball team is scheduled to celebrate its historic season on Sunday, Feb. 5, with its annual season-ending banquet that will take place at renovated Tully Gym from 3:45 p.m. to 5:45 p.m. on the fourth court.

This year, the banquet is open to any interested attendees, with only a limited number of seats available. Tickets for what should be an incredibly commemorative event are $20 and include a banquet dinner, program and a tour of the renovated team area in revamped Tully Gym. Those who are interested in attending the event are encouraged to RSVP by 10 a.m. on Monday, Jan. 30, by calling the FSU Volleyball Office at (850) 644-3003.

The 2011 FSU Volleyball season was a year like no other in the program’s 44-year history. The Seminoles made their first NCAA national semifinal appearance in school history, reaching the round of four alongside UCLA, USC and Illinois. The Seminoles also finished the season with their highest ranking ever at No. 7, and also ended the year with the seventh-rated RPI.

The FSU Volleyball banquet will include remarks from head coach Chris Poole about the team’s momentous season, as well as Director of Florida State Athletics Randy Spetman. Speeches will be made by FSU seniors Visnja Djurdjevic, Jekaterina Stepanova, Rachael Morgan and Patricia Figueiredo, while Poole will end the event with comments on the team’s future that appear very bright with the signing of one of the nation’s best recruiting classes in 2011.

Various awards will also be given out to select student-athletes. In 2011, FSU produced three All-Americans in second-team selection Stepanova, honorable mention pick Djurdjevic and honorable mention selection Ashley Neff. Poole was tabbed as both the Atlantic Coast Conference and AVCA East Region Coach of the Year, while associate head coach Holly Watts was honored as the AVCA National Assistant Coach of the Year.

Related Articles