November 10, 2000 - by
Cottrell Named Finalist For Ray Guy Award

Nov. 10, 2000

Tallahassee, Fla. –
Keith Cottrell, Florida State’s fourth-year starting punter, is one of ten finalists for the inaugural Ray Guy Award as announced by the Greater Augusta Sports Council. The award recognizes the nation’s top punter.

Cottrell, a senior from Orlando, Fla., is one of the leading punters in the nation. He is averaging a near career-high 41.4 yards per punt on 40 punts this season. He has averaged more than 40 yards per punt in five of Florida State’s 10 games this season. Cottrell has dropped 16 or his 40 punts inside the 20 and eight have been downed inside the 10-yard line.

The winner of the 2000 Ray Guy National Punter Award will be announced on the 2000 Home Depot College Football Awards Show on ESPN on Dec. 7 at 9 p.m. The winner will be honored at the Greater Augusta Sports Award Gala. The guest speaker at the gala is scheduled to be Al Davis, General Partner of the Oakland Raiders.

The ten finalists are Cottrell, Kurtis Doerr (Senior, Oregon), Hayden Epstein (Junior, Michigan), Jeff Ferguson (Junior, Oklahoma), Preston Gruening (Sophomore, Minnesota), Nick Harris (Senior, California), Joey Hildbold (Sophomore, Notre Dame), David Leaverton (Senior, Tennessee), Nick Murphy (Junior, Arizona State), Kevin Stemke (Senior, Washington).

Related Articles