October 13, 2000 - by
Cross Country Sweeps Florida Intercollegiate Championships

Oct. 13, 2000

TALLAHASSEE, Fla. – Florida State cross country teams came home from Tampa
tonight both with first place victories. The men’s team had eight
runners in the top ten, and the women had five runners in the top ten.

The Seminoles won a much needed victory today at the Florida
Intercollegiate Championships. This was their final chance to tune up before
the ACC Championships. Today the men proved they were ready, with every
runner finishing in the top 50. With eight Noles finishing in the top ten,
and with a 2nd place finish by sophomore Nick Stuart, the men took first
place with a score of 28 points. In second place came the University of
Miami with 82 points. Stuart ran the 8K in a time of 26:08. Not far behind
Stuart came the rest of the Seminole tribe, finishing in places
fifth-eleventh. In fifth came junior Brian Flieshmann (26:57), Ryan
Hicks(6th-26:58), Tommy Kunish (7th-27:04), Eric Ritchson (8th-27:05), Ryan
Atkins (9th-27:08), Dan Clark (10th-27:14), and Jim Vanvenn (11th-27:14.79).

Following the top eight for FSU included, freshman Danny
Fritz(14th-27:27), freshman Shawn Patterson (15th-27:32), sophomore Aaron
Caruso (33rd-28:09), Nate Davis (36th-28:13), and freshman Dave Guerra

The Lady Noles also garnered a first place victory tonight, with four top
ten finishes. Freshman Amy Plekaitis once again led the Lady Noles coming in
first place with a time of 17:55. Sophomore Katie Jeffrey came in third
place with a time of 18:23, and senior Cynthia Campbell finished sixth with a
time of 18:26. Sophomore Kim Winn finished out the top ten for the Lady
Seminoles finishing in eight place with a time of 18:43.

Rounding out the finishers for FSU were sophomore Andrea Dulmage
(14th-19:22), freshman Rachel Marsh (21st-19:32), Laurel Slyck (29th-20:00),
Erica Lazarus (31st-20:05), and Beth Lukens (37th-20:18).

“This was an outstanding effort by both teams,” raved head
coach Bob Braman. “It is certainly a momentus builder for the ACC
championship. Amy and Nick ran simply brilliant races.”

The men and women will head to the ACC Championships October 28, 2000, in
Raleigh, North Carolina.

Related Articles