June 24, 2022 - by

Cunningham Named ACC Co-Scholar-Athlete of the Year; 11 Noles Earn Academic All-ACC

TALLAHASSEE, Fla. – A busy awards season for Trey Cunningham continued on Friday morning, as he was named the ACC Co-Scholar-Athlete of the Year for the outdoor season. Cunningham also won the award in the indoor season. Cunningham was also named to the Academic All-ACC team and was joined by Jacore Irving, Ahmed Muhumed, Riley Ott, James Rivera, Adriaan Wildschutt, Kelechi Nwanaga, Ka’Tia Seymour, Maudie Skyring, Ruby Stauber and Sara Zabarino.

This is the fourth time Cunningham has been named the ACC Scholar-Athlete of the year but the previous three times were during the indoor season. Cunningham is the first Nole to win the award during the outdoor season since Stefan Brits in 2016, and he is the first Nole to sweep the award in the indoor and outdoor season.

Out of the 11 Noles to earn Academic All-ACC, only three athletes were first-time honorees. Irving and Rivera were first-time honorees on the men’s side while Stauber was a first-time honoree on the women’s side in her first year with the Seminoles. All five female honorees earned above a 3.8 GPA with Skyring and Stauber each earning 4.0 GPA. On the men’s side, four out of the six honorees had above a 3.5 GPA with Cunningham earning the top GPA at 3.667

Minimum academic requirements for selection to the All-ACC Academic Team are a 3.0 grade point average for the previous semester and a 3.0 cumulative average during one’s academic career. Athletic achievements during the most recent season are also considered in selecting the All-ACC Academic Team.

For updates and exclusive content, follow the Noles on Twitter (FSU_Track), Instagram (fsu_track) and Facebook (Florida State Track and Field).

Academic All-ACC (Women)

Kelechi Nwanaga, Florida State, Sr., Economics

Ka’Tia Seymour, Florida State, Gr., Athletic Coaching

Maudie Skying, Florida State., Gr., Exercise Physiology

Ruby Stauber, Florida State, Gr., Sport Management

Sara Zabarino, Florida State, Jr., Food & Nutrition Science


Academic All-ACC (Men)

Trey Cunningham, Florida State, Gr., Sport Management

Jacore Irving, Florida State, Post-Bacc, Public Health

Ahmed Muhumed, Florida State, Gr., International Affairs

Riley Ott, Florida State, Jr., Sport Management

James Rivera, Florida State, Jr., Interdisciplinary Social Science

Adriaan Wildschutt, Florida State, Gr., Business Administration


Related Articles