May 2, 2017 - by
Del Solar Named Jack Nicklaus Award Semifinalist

TALLAHASSEE, Fla. ( – Florida State Men’s Golf redshirt senior Cristobal Del Solar is one of 30 semifinalists for the Jack Nicklaus National Player of the Year Award presented by Barbasol, announced Tuesday by the Golf Coaches Association of America.

The native of Chile has been one of the top collegiate golfers this season, ranking 19th individually in the latest Golfstat ratings as well as 20th by Golfweek. Through 24 rounds played this year, Del Solar leads Florida State in average score (70.58) and Top 10 finishes (5).

Del Solar owns a tournament win this year, emerging victorious at the Cabarrus County Irish Creek Intercollegiate on April 8-9. At the Club at Irish Creek in Kannapolis, N.C., he won with an 8-under 205 which included a second-round 65.

The South American-born golfer also owns Top 10 finishes this season at the Rod Myers Invitational (tied for second), the Sea Best Invitational (seventh), the SunTrust Gator Invitational (tied for fourth) and the ACC Championship (tied for 10th).

Following the senior departure of All-American Hank Lebioda last year, Del Solar has seized his moment as the elder statesman of the group. Seven of his 24 rounds played this year have been in the 60s, highlighted by his six-under 65 at Irish Creek. He also leads FSU in first-round average (70.63), last-round average (70.25), par 4 scoring (4.05) and par 5 scoring (4.63).

Del Solar Named Jack Nicklaus Award Semifinalist

Del Solar’s current scoring average of 70.58 is the eighth-best in single season history at FSU.

Division I finalists for the award will be named May 25. Nicklaus Award recipients will be announced June 1 with the honor presented by Jack Nicklaus at a ceremony during the final round of the Memorial Tournament presented by Nationwide at Muirfield Village Golf Club.

In addition to receiving the Jack Nicklaus National Player of the Year Award, the five recipients will compete in the Barbasol Shootout for an exemption into the PGA TOUR’s Barbasol Championship, held July 20-23, at the Robert Trent Jones Golf Trail at Grand National in Opelika, Ala. The Barbasol Shootout will be held Saturday, June 3 at the storied Scioto Country Club in Columbus, Ohio – the same club where Jack Nicklaus first learned the game of golf as a young boy.

Follow the FSU Men’s Golf Team on its official Twitter handle (@FSUGolf) as well as on the team’s official Facebook page (

Division I Jack Nicklaus National Player of the Year Award presented by Barbasol Semifinalists
Dawson Armstrong, Lipscomb
Sam Burns, LSU
Cameron Champ, Texas A&M
Wyndham Clark, Oregon
Sean Crocker, Southern California
Cristobal Del Solar, Florida State
Jared du Toit, Arizona State
Doug Ghim, Texas
Nick Hardy, Illinois
Rico Hoey, Southern California
Sam Horsfield, Florida
Theo Humphrey, Vanderbilt
Patrick Martin, Vanderbilt
Maverick McNealy, Stanford
Dylan Meyer, Illinois
Collin Morikawa, California
Kyle Mueller, Michigan
John Oda, UNLV
Zachary Olsen, Oklahoma State
Chandler Phillips, Texas A&M
Doc Redman, Clemson
Matthias Schwab, Vanderbilt
Greyson Sigg, Georgia
Jimmy Stanger, Virginia
Sahith Theegala, Pepperdine
Braden Thornberry, Mississippi
Alejandro Tosti, Florida
Dylan Wu, Northwestern
Norman Xiong, Oregon
Will Zalatoris, Wake Forest

Related Articles