June 27, 2019 - by
Dillard To Be Inducted Into FSU Athletics Hall of Fame

TALLAHASSEE, Fla. (seminoles.com) – Mickey Dillard, who led the Seminole Men’s Basketball Team to the NCAA Tournament in 1978 and 1980, will be inducted into the Florida State Athletics Hall of Fame on September 6, 2019. He will be inducted as part of the 42nd annual Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony and Banquet at the Florida State University Center Club the night before the Seminoles’ football game against ULM.

The 2019 Florida State Hall of Fame Class of 2019 includes baseball player and coach Mike Martin, the all-time winningest coach in any sport in NCAA history along with former FSU quarterback Rick Stockstill who led the 1980 Seminoles to a 10-2 record and Associated Press No. 5 national ranking, four-time golf All-American Caroline Westrup, two-time NCAA champion and nine-time All-American from cross country and track, Susan Kuijken, and Dillard, who earned All-Metro Conference First Team Honors in 1980 and 1981.

Dillard becomes the 28th men’s basketball player to be inducted into the Florida State Athletics Hall of Fame. Along with 1998 inductee Harry Davis, Dillard becomes the second member of the Seminoles 1978 NCAA Tournament team to be voted in to the Hall of Fame. A second teammate, Mitchell Wiggins, who played with Dillard in 1981, was inducted into the FSU Athletics Hall of Fame in 1994.

Dillard was a four-year letter winner (1977-78, 1980-81) who was a starter for the Seminoles’ 1980 and 1981 teams. He is still ranked fourth in school history in scoring with 1,734 points – nearly 40 years after his career at Florida State ended. Dillard led the Seminoles in scoring in both 1980 (635 points / 20.4 ppg) and 1981 (515 points / 18.3 ppg). His 635 points during the 1980 season still ranks as the seventh best single-season scoring total in school history.

Dillard earned Honorable Mention All-American honors from the Associated Press in 1981 and was named to the All-Metro Conference First Team in both 1980 and 1981. He was a member of three consecutive Metro Conference Tournament finalist teams (1978, 1979, 1980) and helped the Seminoles advance to the first round of the NCAA Tournament in 1978 and to the second round of the 1980 NCAA Tournament.

The annual induction ceremony will begin at 5:30 p.m. at Florida State’s University Center Club the night before the Seminole’s home football game against ULM. A limited number of tickets are available to the public for $75.00 via email at fsuhalloffame@gmail.com or by calling the FSU Varsity Club at 850-644-1123.

Florida State Men’s Basketball Players In The FSU Athletics Hall of Fame
Dave Cowens, 1977
Ron Harris, 1978
Jim Oler, 1979
Hugh Durham, 1980
Jeff Hogan, 1980
Dave Fedor, 1981
Bud Whitehead, 1981
Ham Wernke, 1982
Dick Artmeier, 1984
Jim Lyttle, 1984
Gary Schull, 1985
Ralph Chaudron, 1986
Rowland Garrett, 1986
Ron King, 1988
Reggie Royals, 1991
Otto Petty, 1992
George McCloud, 1994
Mitchell Wiggins, 1994
Harry Davis, 1998
Charlie Ward, 1999
Bob Sura, 2003
Sam Cassell, 2004
Skip Young, 2006
Doug Edwards, 2008
Greg Grady, 2017
Larry Strom, 2017
Al Thornton, 2018
Mikey Dillard, 2019

Related Articles