February 20, 2011 - by
Durham — 2011 FSU Legend

Feb. 20, 2011

TALLAHASSEE, Fla. (seminoles.com) –
Hugh Durham, who spent a total of 24 seasons at Florida State as a player, assistant coach and head coach for the basketball team, will represent the Seminole basketball program as a member of the ACC Basketball Tournament Legend class of 2011 at the 58th Annual ACC basketball Tournament March 10-13 at the Greensboro Coliseum.

Durham finished his playing career in 1959, averaging 18.9 points a game for his career and his 1,381 points still ranks 16th on the Seminoles’ career scoring list. After spending five years as an assistant coach, he took over the head coaching responsibilities in 1966-67, guiding the Seminoles to a 229-96 (.705) 12-year record, still the second-highest amount of wins in FSU history. He led three Florida State teams to the NCAA Tournament, including the 1971-72 squad which posted a 27-6 record, finished the regular season ranked 10th nationally and reached the NCAA National Championship Game against UCLA. In 37 seasons as a head coach at Florida State, Georgia and Jacksonville, he posted a record of 633-429 (.596) and currently ranks 29th on the all-time NCAA coaching list for career victories. He is one of 12 coaches who have taken two different teams to the Final Four, also guiding Georgia there in 1983. A native of Louisville, Ky., Durham currently resides in Jacksonville, Fla.

The Legends will be honored at this year’s ACC Men’s Basketball Tournament in Greensboro at the annual ACC Basketball Legends Brunch, which will be held on Saturday, March 12 beginning at 10 a.m. Hosted by television personalities Tim Brant and Mike Hogewood, the ACC Men’s Basketball Legends Brunch will be held in the Guilford Ballroom of the Sheraton Four Seasons Hotel. Tickets, priced at $35 each and tables of ten for $350 each. Information on purchasing tickets may be obtained by going to the official ACC website–www.theACC.com/ACCtournament

Two former head coaches who combined for four NCAA Final Four appearances, the 1966 ACC Player of the Year, one of the centerpieces of NC State’s historic 1983 national Championship team, a member of the ACC’s 50th Anniversary team headline the 2011 ACC Basketball Tournament Legends

Longtime North Carolina assistant and head coach Bill Guthridge and former Florida State player and head coach Hugh Durham each guided a pair of NCAA Final Four teams as head coaches. Former Duke guard Steve Vacendak (Scranton, Pa.) was the ACC’s 1966 Player of the Year as well as MVP of the ACC Tournament that year in leading the Blue Devils to the ACC Championship and a berth in the NCAA Final Four. NC State’s Thurl Bailey (Seat Pleasant, Md.), earned first-team All-ACC honors and led the Wolfpack in scoring and rebounding in its star-crossed 1983 National Championship season. Maryland’s Len Elmore (Springfield Gardens, N.Y.), selected as one of the ACC’s Top 50 players on its 50th Anniversary team in 2003, was one of the central figures in the Terps’ 1974 ACC Tournament Championship Game, a contest universally regarded as the greatest ACC basketball game ever played.

In all, this year’s Legends contingent includes seven former NBA Draft selections–including three first-round picks–two All-Americas, three All-ACC selections, four players or coaches who appeared in a total of 19 NCAA Final Fours and seven former players who accounted for a total of 58 years of professional basketball experience.

Joining them as Legends for the 2011 ACC Tournament are Boston College guard Michael Adams (Hartford, Conn.), a three-time All-Big East selection and a veteran of 11 NBA seasons; former Clemson swingman Greg Buckner (Hopkinsville, Ky.), who is the first Clemson player to lead his team to four consecutive post-season tournaments; Georgia Tech forward-center John “Spider” Salley (Brooklyn, N.Y.), a 2nd-team NABC All-America and one of the key figures of Georgia Tech’s emergence as a national basketball power under former coach Bobby Cremins; and former Miami forward Eric Brown (Brooklyn, N.Y.), the Hurricanes’ second-leading career scorer who helped former UM Coach Bill Foster resurrect the Miami program.

Completing the 2011 ACC Basketball Tournament Legends class are Virginia’s Chris Williams (Birmingham, Ala.), a prolific scoring forward on the Cavaliers’ teams of the early 2000’s; Virginia Tech’s Wayne Robinson (Greensboro, N.C.), a prototypical power forward/center for the Tech teams of the late 1970’s and Wake Forest’s Robert O’Kelley (Memphis, Tenn.), a prolific scoring backcourtman for the Deacons who was the 1998 ACC Rookie of the Year.

Related Articles