July 11, 2017 - by
Eberle, Izzo Earn Watch List Honors

TALLAHASSEE, Fla. – Redshirt junior Alec Eberle has been named to the preseason Watch List for the Rimington Trophy, given to the nation’s top center, and redshirt junior Ryan Izzo is on the Watch List for the John Mackey Award, given to the country’s best tight end, both organizations announced Tuesday morning.

Eberle has started the past 19 games for the Seminoles, including all 13 with first-year quarterback Deondre Francois in 2016. The Mechanicsville, Va., native spearheaded the offensive line as the Florida State offense ranked third in the Atlantic Coast Conference in total offense (466.2 yards) and fourth in scoring offense (35.1 points per game). Eberle also was named to the Allstate AFCA Good Works Team for his contributions as president of Florida State’s chapter of Uplifting Athletes. This is Eberle’s second consecutive season on the Rimington Trophy preseason watch list.

Izzo, from Highland Lakes, N.J., proved to be one of the top tight ends in the ACC last season, finishing with 19 catches and 227 yards, while also opening blocking lanes for All-American running back Dalvin Cook. Izzo was a freshman All-American honorable mention by Campus Insiders in 2015.

On Monday, Izzo’s fellow tight end, Mavin Saunders, was nominated for the Allstate AFCA Good Works Team after his contributions to a local Tallahassee middle school this past season.

Eberle and Izzo are both attempting to be FSU’s second winner at their respective positions. Bryan Stork won the Rimington Trophy in 2013, and Nick O’Leary was named the Mackey Award winner in 2014, a year after being a finalist.

The Rimington Trophy and Mackey Awards will be presented during The Home Depot College Football Awards Red Carpet Show December 7 on ESPNU.

Preseason Watch Lists:

Bednarik (Defensive Player of the Year): Derwin James, Tarvarus McFadden, Derrick Nnadi, Matthew Thomas

Maxwell (Player of the Year): Deondre Francois, Derwin James

Allstate AFCA Good Works Team (Community Service): Mavin Saunders

Rimington (Center): Alec Eberle

Related Articles