May 30, 2018 - by
Eberle Named To Rimington Trophy Spring Watch List

TALLAHASSEE, Fla. – Florida State redshirt senior Alec Eberle has been named to the Rimington Trophy Spring Watch List, it was announced Wednesday.

Eberle started all 13 games in 2017, extending his team-high streak to 32 consecutive starts, and was a team captain in his junior season. The Mechanicsville, Virginia, native earned second-team All-ACC honors after helping block for an offense that averaged more than 350 yards of total offense and topped the 400-yard mark six times. The Seminoles finished the season with a four-game winning streak during which they scored 199 points, FSU’s highest four-game scoring output since 2013, including an FBS-high 77 points against Delaware State.

Eberle led an offensive line that also blocked for strong individual performances from running backs Jacques Patrick and Cam Akers, who combined to rush for 1,772 yards and 14 touchdowns in 2017, and quarterback James Blackman, who passed for 2,230 yards to rank third in the nation among freshmen. Akers rushed for 1,024 yards to break Florida State’s freshman rushing record of 1,008 previously held by Dalvin Cook and give FSU a 1,000-yard rusher for the fifth straight season. His four 100-yard rushing games ranked second in school history among freshmen. Blackman, the first true freshman starting quarterback at FSU since 1985, was named the Offensive Most Valuable Player of the Independence Bowl after throwing for a bowl-record four touchdowns in FSU’s win.

The Rimington Trophy has been awarded to the most outstanding center in FBS since 2000 and is named after Dave Rimington, a two-time winner of the Outland Trophy and 1997 College Football Hall of Fame inductee. The winner is selected by determining the consensus All-American center pick from the All-America teams of the Walter Camp Foundation, Sporting News and Football Writers of America.

The last FSU winner of the Rimington Trophy was Bryan Stork in 2013.

Related Articles