July 18, 2017 - by
Eberle Named to Wuerffel Trophy Watch List

TALLAHASSEE, Fla. – Redshirt junior center Alec Eberle was named to his second straight Wuerffel Trophy watch list on Tuesday by the All Sports Association. Eberle was one of nine players that returned to the watch list from 2016.

The Mechanicsville, Va., native is in his third season as the head of the Florida State chapter for Uplifting Athletes, which raises money for rare diseases, including Fanconi anemia, a disease that affects Coach Jimbo Fisher’s youngest son Ethan. He will spearhead the efforts for the Lift for Life event, which will take place on Tuesday at 5 p.m. in the Indoor Practice Facility.

In 2016, Eberle was selected to the Allstate AFCA Good Works Team.

The Wuerffel Trophy, known as “College Football’s Premier Award for Community Service,” is presented annually by the All Sports Association in Fort Walton Beach, Fla.  Named after 1996 Heisman Trophy winning quarterback Danny Wuerffel from the University of Florida, the Wuerffel Trophy is awarded to the FBS player that best combines exemplary community service with athletic and academic achievement. No Florida State player has yet won the honor.

The formal announcement of the 2017 recipient will be made at the National Football Foundation’s press conference in New York City on December 5. The presentation of the 2017 Wuerffel Trophy will occur at the 49th Annual All Sports Association Awards Banquet on February 16, 2018 in Fort Walton Beach, Fla.

Preseason Watch Lists:

Bednarik (Defensive Player of the Year): Derwin James, Tarvarus McFadden, Derrick Nnadi, Matthew Thomas

Maxwell (Player of the Year): Deondre Francois, Derwin James

Allstate AFCA Good Works Team (Community Service): Mavin Saunders

Rimington (Center): Alec Eberle

Mackey (Tight End): Ryan Izzo

Lou Groza (Kicker): Ricky Aguayo

Outland (Interior Lineman): Alec Eberle, Derrick Nnadi

Nagurski (Defensive Player of the Year): Derwin James, Tarvarus McFadden, Derrick Nnadi, Josh Sweat

Thorpe (Defensive Back): Derwin James, Tarvarus McFadden

Hornung (Most Versatile): Derwin James

Butkus (Linebacker): Jacob Pugh and Matthew Thomas

Wuerffel (Service): Alec Eberle


Related Articles