November 1, 2012 - by
Eight Seminoles Earn All-ACC

Nov. 1, 2012

TALLAHASSEE, Fla. – Atlantic Coast Conference regular season champion Florida State was honored with a league-best eight student-athletes on the 2012 All-ACC Women’s Soccer teams as announced on Thursday by the league office and Commissioner John Swofford.

The Seminoles were the only team in the league to place three student-athletes on both the first and second teams. Highlighting the All-ACC first team from Florida State were defenders Ines Jaurena and Kassey Kallman and goalkeeper Kelsey Wys. Senior forward Tiffany McCarty, sophomore midfielder Dagny Brynjarsdottir and senior defender Casey Short were honored on the second team. Freshmen Carson Pickett and Isabella Schmid earned a spot on the All-ACC Freshmen Team. The eight all-conference members’ ties a school record set in 2010.

Mark Krikorian was tabbed the ACC Coach of the Year for the third time in his career. Krikorian guided the Seminoles to their first outright regular season ACC Championship, second overall, and first since 2009 with an 8-2-0 league mark. The eight ACC wins tie for the most in program history. Florida State, which stands 16-2-0, started the season with a program-best 14 straight wins. The Seminoles were the consensus No. 1 team in the nation for six weeks and ranked No. 1 in at least one national poll three additional weeks for a school record nine straight weeks. Krikorian earned his 300th career win, a 1-0 victory at Arkansas on Sept. 9. The award is Krikorian’s third ACC Coach of the Year honor of his career. He also earned the award in 2005 and 2009.

Jaurena, Kallman, Short and Wys have played a major role in Florida State’s team defending in 2012 which ranks as the nation’s best. The Seminoles enter the ACC Championship semifinals leading the nation in goals against average (0.388) and shutout percentage (0.778), while ranking third in save percentage (0.887). FSU has registered 14 shutouts on the year – tied for the most in a single-season in school history set in 2006 and then matched in 2008. In league play, the Seminole defense allowed just four goals in 10 matches, the fewest given up to ACC opponents in school history.

Jaurena, a three-time all-conference honoree, was named to the All-ACC first team for the second year in a row, while Kallman and Wys are making their first appearance on the first team. Both Kallman and Wys were named to the All-ACC second as freshmen in 2010.

McCarty joins Jaurena as a three-time all-conference honoree as the Laurel, Md., native was named to the first team in 2009 and 2011. Short is making her second appearance on the All-ACC second team and first as a defender as the Naperville, Ill., native earned second team accolades as a midfielder in 2010. The second-team accolade for Brynjarsdottir is the first of her career.

McCarty leads the team in points (21), goals (9) and shots (41) through 18 matches, while her three game-winning goals are tied for second. The redshirt senior forward has two multi-goal games in 2012 and will leave Florida State as the school’s leader in 10 offensive categories.

Brynjarsdottir has put together a stellar sophomore season registering single-season career highs for goals (6), assists (6), points (18) and game-winning goals (4). The Icelandic native has two multi-assist games in 2012 while her best game of the season came against Boston College in the ACC Tournament quarterfinals as she finished with a career-high four points on a goal and two assists.

Pickett and Schmid have been major contributors to the success of Florida State in their first season. Pickett has appeared in all 18 matches and currently ranks seventh on the team in points with seven on two goals and three assists. Schmid has started 16 matches in the midfield and ranks fifth on the team in minutes played at 1297. Her lone assist of the season went as the game-winner in a home victory over Clemson.

The All-ACC awards are voted on by the league’s 11 head coaches.

Florida State is back in action on Friday, November 2 at 5:00 p.m. against Virginia in the ACC Tournament semifinals. The match will be played at WakeMed Park in Cary, N.C. and will air live on ESPN3.

Here is a complete list of the 2012 All-ACC Women’s Soccer Team:

All-ACC First Team
Morgan Brian, So., Virginia, MF
Amber Brooks, Sr., North Carolina, MF
Crystal Dunn, Jr., North Carolina, D
Ines Jaurena, Sr., Florida State, D
Kassey Kallman, Jr., Florida State, D
Kristen Mewis, Sr., Boston College, MF
Caroline Miller, Sr. Virginia, F
Kealia Ohai, Jr., North Carolina, F
Katie Stengel, Jr., Wake Forest, F
Laura Weinberg, Jr., Duke, F
Kelsey Wys, Jr., Florida State, GK

All-ACC Second Team
Natahsa Anasi, Jr., D, Duke
Aubrey Bledsoe, Jr., GK, Wake Forest
Hayley Brock, Jr., F, Maryland
Dagny Brynjarsdottir, So., MF, Florida State
Kim DeCesare, Jr., F, Duke
Becky Kaplan, Sr., F, Maryland
Stephanie McCaffrey, So., F, Boston College
Tiffany McCarty, Sr., F, Florida State
Ashley Meier, Fr., MF, Virginia Tech
Cassie Pecht, Fr., MF, Duke
Casey Short, Sr., D, Florida State

ACC All-Freshman Team
Makenzy Doniak, Virginia, F
Hannah Gardner, North Carolina, D
Summer Green, North Carolina, F
McKenzie Meehan, Boston College, F
Ashley Meier, Virginia Tech, MF
Jasmine Paterson, Miami, F
Cassie Pecht, Duke, MF
Carson Pickett, Florida State, MF
Isabella Schmid, Florida State, MF
Emily Sonnett, Virginia, D
Ashley Spivey, Maryland, MF

Offensive Player of the Year
Caroline Miller, Sr., F, Virginia

Defensive Player of the Year
Crystal Dunn, Jr., D, North Carolina

Freshman of the Year
Cassie Pecht, Fr., MF, Duke

Coach of the Year
Mark Krikorian, Florida State


Related Articles