May 3, 2006 - by
Eight Student-Athletes Tabbed Arthur Ashe Jr. Sports Scholars By National Educational Magazine

May 3, 2006

Tallahassee, Fla. – Eight Florida State student-athletes were named 2006 Arthur Ashe Jr. Sports Scholars announced in the April edition of Black Issues in Higher Education. Senior football player David Castillo was selected Overall Male Scholar Athlete of the Year in addition to first team honors.

Track and field student-athletes Rhodes Scholar Garrett Johnson, senior LaKendra McColumn and redshirt freshman Javier Garcia-Tunon all joined Castillo on the first team. Johnson is on the list for the second time in his academic career. He was awarded first team honors last year after graduating in three years with a 3.81 GPA in Political Science and Literature. The indoor national champion is joined for the first time by teammates McColumn and Garcia-Tunon, both All-Atlantic Coast Conference hurdlers. Distance runner Adrienne Lufkin was named to the third team

The women’s basketball team was well represented as senior nursing major Ganiyat Adeduntan earned a spot on the second team and teammate junior Alicia Gladden, a 2005 third-team honoree, was tabbed with honorable mention honors.

U.S. Women’s National Team soccer standout India Trotter rounded out the group, making the fourth team.

Black Issues In Higher Education started the Sports Scholars Awards to commend undergraduate students of color who combine athletic and academic achievements. A scholar and an athlete, Arthur Ashe, Jr. dedicated his life to expanding opportunities for young people. Each year Black Issues in Higher Education invites every postsecondary institution in the country to participate in this awards program by nominating outstanding sports scholars. Students named an Arthur Ashe, Jr. Sports Scholar must exhibit academic excellence and community activism as well as athletic prowess.

To be included, students have to compete in an intercollegiate sport, maintain a cumulative GPA of at least 3.2 and be active on their campuses or in their communities.

2006 Arthur Ashe, Jr. Sports Scholars

WBB Ganiyat Adeduntan 2nd Team
WBB Alicia Gladden Honorable Mention
WSO India Trotter 4th Team
WTR Lakendra McColumn 1st Team
WTR Adrienne Lufkin 3rd Team
MFB David Castillo 1st Team and Overall Male Scholar Athlete of the Year
MTR Javier Garcia-Tunon 1st Team
MTR Garrett Johnson 1st Team

Related Articles