March 25, 2020 - by
Ekhomu, Gillespie Named WBCA Region Finalists

TALLAHASSEE, Fla. ( – Florida State Women’s Basketball seniors Nicki Ekhomu and Kiah Gillespie have been named region finalists for 2020 WBCA NCAA Division I Coaches’ All-America, announced on Wednesday by the organization.

The selection committee will select the 10-member WBCA NCAA Division I Coaches’ All-America team from these 52 candidates. The 2020 WBCA NCAA Division I Coaches’ All-America team will be announced Thursday, April 2.

The selection committee uses an equation to determine an equitable number of finalists from each region. The number of NCAA Division I institutions in each region is divided by the number of NCAA Division I institutions overall to determine a percentage for each region. This percentage is then multiplied by 52 (the total number of desired finalists) to get the number of finalists for each region.

Ekhomu enjoyed a superb season as Florida State’s point guard, being named to the All-ACC First Team. She finished in the Top 10 overall in scoring (14.9), field goal percentage (43.1), assists (4.9) and assist/turnover ratio (2.0) among ACC players.

The learning curve Ekhomu had was enormous going into her junior season after she needed to take over point-guard duties. She finished as FSU’s leading scorer in ACC play this season, averaging 16.0 points, and had 26 games as a senior where she had a positive assist/turnover ratio.

Gillespie continues to add to her awards list this post-season, already securing All-America honors from the Associated Press and the United States Basketball Writers Association. For the second straight year, she led FSU in overall scoring (15.6), rebounding (8.7) and field goals made (195).

The region finalists are listed below:


Name School
Bella Alarie Princeton University
Bre Cavanaugh Fordham University
Elissa Cunane North Carolina State University
Nicki Ekhomu Florida State University
Dana Evans University of Louisville
Kiah Gillespie Florida State University
Haley Gorecki Duke University
Stella Johnson Rider University
Jazmine Jones University of Louisville
Beatrice Mompremier University of Miami
Jocelyn Willoughby University of Virginia


Name School
Aliyah Boston University of South Carolina
Jessika Carter Mississippi State University
Chennedy Carter Texas A&M University
Rennia Davis University of Tennessee
Tyasha Harris University of South Carolina
Rhyne Howard University of Kentucky
Rickea Jackson Mississippi State University
Erica Ogwumike Rice University
Chelsey Perry University of Tennessee at Martin
Alexis Tolefree University of Arkansas


Name School
Brittany Brewer Texas Tech University
Te’a Cooper Baylor University
Lauren Cox Baylor University
Crystal Dangerfield University of Connecticut
Vivian Gray Oklahoma State University
Keri Jewett-Giles Florida Gulf Coast University
Ashley Joens Iowa State University
Antoinette Miller University of Cincinnati
Olivia Nelson-Ododa University of Connecticut
NaLyssa Smith Baylor University
Ilmar’l Thomas University of Cincinnati
Megan Walker University of Connecticut
Christyn Williams University of Connecticut


Name School
Grace Berger Indiana University
Kaila Charles University of Maryland
Kathleen Doyle University of Iowa
Arella Guirantes Rutgers University
Naz HIllmon University of Michigan
Becca Hittner Drake University
Dorka Juhasz Ohio State University
Ali Patberg Indiana University
Lindsey Pulliam Northwestern University
Chante Stonewall DePaul University


Name School
Ruthy Hebard University of Oregon
Sabrina Ionescu University of Oregon
Aari McDonald University of Arizona
Michaela Onyenwere University of California – Los Angeles
Mikayla Pivec Oregon State University
Satou Sabally University of Oregon
Destiny Slocum Oregon State University
Kiana Williams Stanford University

Related Articles