April 19, 2016 - by
Eleven Selected to All-ACC Academic Teams

TALLAHASSEE, Fla. (Seminoles.com) – Six men and five women represented the Florida State swimming and diving teams on the 2017 All-ACC Academic teams that were announced by Atlantic Coast Conference on Wednesday. The Seminoles had the fourth highest selected for the women behind Virginia, Louisville and NC State and tied with the third most with Notre Dame behind Louisville and Duke for the men.

Seniors Dylan Grisell and Jason McCormick headlined the 50-man list and were among 11 that were honored as three-time selections. Junior Connor Kalisz earned his second nod, while juniors Tyler Roberge and Joe Plechy were selected to their first team.

The ACC recognized 51 women as Florida State was led by sophomore Cassidy Gebhart with her second career selection. Freshmen Ayla Bonniwell, Molly Carlson along with junior Natalie Pierce and senior Lydia Ware were named to their first team.

“I’m very excited to see these great student-athletes get honored for their hard work,” FSU head coach Neal Studd said. “They all work hard in the classroom and in the pool and on the boards.”

Minimum academic requirements for selection to the All-ACC Academic Team are a 3.0 grade point average for the previous semester and a 3.0 cumulative average during one’s academic career for undergraduate students. Athletic achievements during the most recent season are also considered in selecting the All-ACC Academic Team.

The ACC Honor Roll, which recognizes all conference student-athletes with a grade point average of 3.0 for the current academic year, will be released in July.

In addition to their academic achievements, the women’s swimming and diving team was awarded the Athletic Directors Cup for Service at the Golden Nole Awards while the men finished fourth in the running on April 10.  Individually, junior Alexi Smith and senior Jemal LeGrand were recognized for the ACC Top Six for Service.

Related Articles