December 6, 2022 - by

Emily Ryan Named to AVCA East Region Honorable Mention

LEXINGTON, Ky.  –  Graduate student middle blocker Emily Ryan was named to the AVCA East Region Honorable Mention on Tuesday morning. This is the 15th consecutive season that the Seminoles have had an athlete on the all-region team or had an honorable mention selection.

“I am excited and honored to receive this award,” Ryan said. “I hope I brought more than just statistics for this team, and I’m glad I took the opportunity to close my college career on a strong note.”

A transfer from UCLA, Ryan made an immediate impact in her one season with the Seminoles. Playing in every set this season, Ryan led the team in blocks with 119 and 1.08 blocks per set which ranked 10th in the ACC. Ryan finished the year with 236 kills with a .322 hitting percentage which were both career highs.

For updates and exclusive content, follow the Noles on Twitter (FSU_Volleyball), Instagram (fsuvolleyball) and Facebook (Florida State Seminoles Volleyball).

AVCA East All-Region Team

Yadhira Anchante Marquette University S So.
Victoria Barrett Towson University OH So.
Claire Chaussee University of Louisville OH Gr.
Aubrey Hamilton Marquette University OH Jr.
Aiko Jones University of Louisville RS RS-Sr.
Jaymeson Kinley Butler University L Jr.
Raquel Lazaro University of Louisville S Gr.
Lani Mason University of Delaware OH Sr.
Carsen Murray Marquette University MB Jr.
Elena Scott University of Louisville L So.
Polina Shemanova Syracuse University OH Gr.
Norah Sis Creighton University OH So.
Amaya Tillman University of Louisville MB Sr.
Kendra Wait Creighton University S So.


Name School Position Year
Nina Cajic Towson University RS Jr.
Katie Forsythe Loyola University Maryland L Gr.
Rya McKinnon Howard University OH Fr.
Jill Pressly DePaul University OH Jr.
Emily Ryan Florida State University MB Gr.
Kiana Schmitt Creighton University MB Sr.
Beau Vanderlaan Brown University MB So.

East Region Player of the Year: Claire Chaussee, University of Louisville, OH, Gr.
East Region Freshman of the Year: Rya McKinnon, Howard University, OH
East Region Coach of the Year: Dani Busboom Kelly, University of Louisville

Related Articles