November 1, 2013 - by
Fisher Named to Coach of the Year Watch List

Nov. 1, 2013

TALLAHASSEE, Fla. – Florida State head coach Jimbo Fisher was named to the 2013 Paul Bear Bryant Coach of the Year Award Watch List on Friday.

The award is given to the nation’s top football coach, and Fisher is one of 20 coaches on the watch list.

Now in his fourth year at Florida State, Fisher has a record of 38-10 and his winning percentage of .792 is the highest of any coach in ACC history.

Fisher led the Seminoles to the ACC Championship and Orange Bowl Championship last season and has guided FSU to a 7-0 start in 2013.

The American Heart Association and The Paul Bear Bryant Awards’ Title Sponsor Marathon Oil Corporation announced the full watch list for the award, which will be revealed at the 28th annual event on Jan. 15, 2014 in Houston. Joining Fisher on the 2013 Paul Bear Bryant Coach of the Year Award are:

• David Bailiff – Rice
• Art Briles – Baylor
• Rod Carey – Northern Illinois
• Tim DeRuyter – Fresno State
• Al Golden – Miami (FL)
• Mark Helfrich – Oregon
• Brady Hoke – Michigan
• Kliff Kingsbury – Texas Tech
• Pete Lembo – Ball State
• Tony Levine – University of Houston
• Gus Malzahn – Auburn
• Urban Meyer – Ohio State
• Les Miles – LSU
• George O’Leary – UCF
• Gary Pinkel – Missouri
• Nick Saban – Alabama
• David Shaw – Stanford
• Bob Stoops – Oklahoma
• Kevin Sumlin – Texas A&M

In early December, a finalists’ list comprised of five to ten coaches will be announced. Finalists will attend an awards dinner on Jan. 15, 2014 in Houston, Texas at the Royal Sonesta Hotel in the Galleria, where the winner will be announced live. The Bryant Coach of the Year Award is the only college coaching honor voted on after all of the bowl games are concluded.

January’s event will also recognize one of the longest-serving and winningest football coaches in Texas A&M history R.C. Slocum as the 2014 Bryant Lifetime Achievement Recipient. The award recognizes excellence in coaching on and off the field during a career, allowing recipients to take their place in history alongside legends such as Paul “Bear” Bryant. Recent Lifetime Achievement recipients include Barry Switzer, Glenn “Bo” Schembechler, Bobby Bowden and LaVell Edwards.

The Bryant Awards honor excellence in coaching while raising funds to fight heart disease and stroke, the nation’s No. 1 and No. 4 killers. Bryant himself suffered a heart attack prior to his death in 1983. Funds raised benefit research, community education and outreach programs of the AHA. For more information, or to purchase tickets or a table for the event, contact Kristin Rodriguez at 713-610-5026 or visit

Related Articles