May 23, 2019 - by
Fitzpatrick and Chacon Earn All-American Honors

TALLAHASSEE, Fla. –  Florida State beach volleyball’s No. 1 pairing of Madison Fitzpatrick and Alaina Chacon we named Second-Team All-Americans on Wednesday.

The Seminole duo played every match together during the 2019 season, finishing with a 27-15 record to lead all FSU pairs. Their 27 wins together put them in eighth all-time for the most wins by a Seminole pair in a season. They finished with a 14-7 record on court one, an 8-5 record on court two and a 1-0 record on court three.

The duo earned CCSA Pair of the Week twice. Their first honor came on March 6th after a 4-0 weekend against UAB, No. 4 LSU, No. 10 South Carolina and No. 17 FAU. They earned their second honor after going 3-0 at home against Austin Peay, No. 15 Arizona and No. 10 Stetson. That performance also earned them AVCA/ National Pair of the Week

Fitzpatrick and Chacon’s 19-9 regular season record earned them First-Team All-CCSA recognition.

The duo earned a win in the first round of the NCAA Championship over Cal Poly. They capped off their season in the USAV Collegiate Beach Championship, making it to the semifinals before earning a fourth-place finish.

First team:
Abril Bustamante and Tina Graudina, USC
Megan McNamara and Nicole McNamara, UCLA
Claire Coppola and Kristen Nuss, LSU
Sarah Sponcil and Lily Justine, UCLA
Emily Maglio and Amy Ozee, Hawai’i

Second team:
Federica Frasca and Margherita Bianchin, FIU
Brook Bauer and Heidi Dyer, Pepperdine
Terese Cannon and Sammy Slater, USC
Crissy Jones and Tiadoric Miric, Cal Poly
Madison Fitzpatrick and Alaina Chacon, Florida State

Honorable mention
Sunniva Helland-Hansen and Carly Perales, Stetson
Reka Orsi Toth and Savannah Slattery, Loyola Marymount
Mima Mirkovic and Jordan Polo, Cal Berkeley
Haley Hallgren and Alexandra Poletto, USC
Lindsey Knudsen and Sarah Chase, St. Mary’s

Others receiving votes: Zana Muno and Abby Van Winkle (UCLA), Pani Napoleon and Morgan Martin (Hawai’i), Lea Monkhouse and Savvy Simo (UCLA), Cadie Bates and Shannon Williams (South Carolina), Ari Homayun and Julia Scoles (Hawai’i), Megan Kruidhof and Mari Molina (Long Beach State), Allison Coens and Hunter Domanski (LSU), Charlie Ekstrom and Tori Ashkinos (Stanford).

For more information, visit Facebook (Florida State Beach Volleyball), Twitter (FSU_BeachVB) and Instagram (FSUbeachvolleyball).


Related Articles