July 14, 2014 - by
Five Seminoles Grab Watch List Honors

July 14, 2014

TALLAHASSEE, Fla. – The reigning national champions continue to rack up National College Football Awards Association Watch List mentions at a staggering rate, as five more Seminoles collected preseason honors on Monday.

Redshirt junior linebacker Terrance Smith was named to the Butkus Award Watch List, while junior defensive end Mario Edwards Jr., redshirt senior left tackle Cameron Erving, senior right guard Tre’ Jackson and senior left guard Josue Matias garnered mention on the Rotary Lombardi Award Watch List.

Smith started 10 games and ranked fourth on the Seminoles with 59 tackles en route to All-ACC Honorable Mention accolades in 2013. He was a standout at middle linebacker for the nation’s No. 1 scoring defense (12.1 ppg).

The Butkus Award is presented to the best linebacker in college football.

Edwards, Jr., appears ready for a breakout year in his third season with the Garnet and Gold after capturing All-ACC Third Team accolades a year ago. He had 3.0 TFLs in the 2014 BCS National Championship and is on the Bronko Nagurski Trophy and Bednarik Award Watch lists in addition to the Lombardi.

Erving, Jackson and Matias nabbed the Lombardi Watch List honor less than a week after being named to the Outland Trophy Preseason Watch List.

The senior trio enters its third year as the starting anchors of FSU’s offensive line. Erving captured the Jacobs Blocking Trophy last season as the Atlantic Coast Conference’s top offensive lineman. He earned first-team All-ACC honors and first-team All-American honors as the blindside protector of Heisman Trophy winner Jameis Winston. Jackson also earned All-ACC honors and second-team All-American accolades at left guard last year while Matias was an All-ACC third-team pick.

Eligibility for the Rotary Lombardi Award is limited to down linemen, end-to-end, either on offense or defense, who set up no farther than 10 yards to the left or right of the ball, or linebackers who set up no farther than five yards deep from the line of scrimmage. The candidates earned a place on the preliminary watch list by earning All-America honors, being named to their respective all-conference teams or receiving 2014 pre-season honors.

Jameis Winston and the Florida State football team are ESPYS nominees Jameis Winston (Best Male College Athlete) and the 2013 Florida State football team (Best Team) are nominees for awards at the ESPYS, ESPN’s annual awards show that airs live on ESPN at 9 p.m. ET on Wednesday.

Fans can vote for the Seminoles until the show starts at ESPN.com/ESPYS.


Seminoles on National College Football Awards Association 2014 Watch Lists

Bednarik Award (Defensive Player of the Year) Mario Edwards Jr. (Jr., DE) P.J. Williams (Jr., CB)

Maxwell Award (Player of the Year) Rashad Greene (Sr., WR) Karlos Williams (Sr., RB) Jameis Winston (R-So., QB)

Mackey Award (Most Outstanding Tight End) Nick O’Leary (Sr., TE)

Rimington Trophy (Premier Center) Austin Barron (Sr., C)

Lou Groza Award (Top Kicker) Roberto Aguayo (R-So., K)

Bronko Nagurski Trophy (Most Outstanding Defensive Player) Mario Edwards Jr. (Jr., DE) P.J. Williams (Jr., CB)

Outland Trophy (Most Outstanding Interior Lineman) Cameron Erving (R-Sr, LT) Tre’ Jackson (Sr., RG) Josue Matias (Sr., LG)

Jim Thorpe Award (Best Defensive Back) Jalen Ramsey (So., S/CB) P.J. Williams (Jr., CB)

Butkus Award (Best Linebacker) Terrance Smith (R-Jr., LB)

Rotary Lombardi Award (Lineman of the Year) Mario Edwards Jr. (Jr., DE) Cameron Erving (R-Sr, LT) Tre’ Jackson (Sr., RG) Josue Matias (Sr., LG)

Paul Hornung Award Kermit Whitfield (So., KR/WR)

Related Articles