October 11, 2001 - by
Florida State Baseball Concludes Fall Practice with Garnet & Gold Game

Oct. 11, 2001

TALLAHASSEE, Fla. – The Florida State baseball team will wrap up fall practice with the annual Garnet and Gold baseball game at Dick Howser Stadium Friday (October 12) at 6:00 p.m. While admission is free to the public, donations will be accepted by the Dick Howser Center for Children (a United Way agency). The split-squad scrimmage is scheduled for nine innings.

“We hope Florida State fans coming in for the Miami game will come out and watch some Seminole baseball Friday night,” said head coach Mike Martin. “Not only is it for a good cause, but everyone will have a chance to see some of the talented new players from our last recruiting class for the first time.”

A pair of newcomers will start on the mound with freshman right-hander Brent Marsh going for the Garnet team and left-hander Daniel Davidson, a junior college transfer, going for the Gold team. Marsh attended nearby Leon High School in Tallahassee while Davidson pitched at Gulf Coast Community College last season. Marsh will be followed by freshmen left-handers Justin Miller and Kevin Lynch, and junior right-handers Jason Newlin and Chris Whidden will follow Davidson in the rotation. Each pitcher is scheduled to work three innings.

Florida State finished 2001 with a 47-19 record and won the ACC regular season title with a conference mark of 20-4. The Seminoles were ranked in the Top 10 in all three of the final polls. FSU checked in at No. 9 in the final Collegiate Baseball poll to extend its streak of Top 10 finishes in that poll to eight seasons – the longest current run in the country.

Catcher Tony Richie and outfielder Mike Futrell will not play as they continue to recover from off-season shoulder surgery. Listed below are the starting lineups for each squad (only eight batters- no DH):

1. #9 Kevin Richmond 2B
2. #4 Stephen Drew SS
3. #25 Nick Rogers CF
4. #1 Tony McQuade LF
5. #10 Chris Hart 1B
6. #16 Scott Toole 3B
7. #32 Blair McCaleb C
8. #26 Kevin Lynch RF

1. #14 Bryan Zech 2B
2. #29 Richie Smith CF
3. #27 Ryan Barthelemy 3B
4. #5 Jerrod Brown 1B
5. #42 Tommy Stewart LF
6. #15 Jeff Probst SS
7. #19 Aaron Cheesman C
8. #2 Rocky Roquet RF

Related Articles