May 20, 2003 - by
Florida State Baseball Recognized With Eight All-ACC Selections

May 20, 2003

Salem, Va. – With 8 All-ACC selections, the Florida State Seminoles head up the 2003 All-Atlantic Coast Conference baseball teams as selected by a vote of the league’s nine head coaches. The teams, announced today at the 30th annual ACC Baseball Tournament, also include five players from NC State and four players from Clemson, Georgia Tech, North Carolina and Wake Forest. Maryland and Virginia each tab one All-Conference selection.

Wake Forest junior Jamie D’Antona was named ACC Player of the Year after hitting .370 on the season with a .728 slugging percentage. D’Antona recorded 34 hits, nine doubles, eight home runs, 31 RBI and 12 walks this season, leading the Demon Deacons to a 29-22 ledger. He stands fifth on the league’s all-time home runs list with 58 and is tied for seventh on the RBI list with 239.

Georgia Tech’s Micah Owings was tabbed the conference Rookie of the Year after helping the Yellow Jackets to a 39-15 overall record and a 17-7 record in the ACC in his freshman campaign. The utility player collected 22 RBI, while throwing 49.1 innings in eight conference match-ups.

NC State’s Elliot Avent was named this year’s ACC Coach of the Year after leading the Wolfpack to a 39-14 record and a 15-9 conference mark. NC State enters the Championship as the third seed and will face six seeded Virginia at 8:30 pm on Wednesday, May 21.

2003 All-ACC Baseball Team

First Team

1B Michael Johnson Clemson

2B Eric Patterson Georgia Tech

3B Jamie D’Antona Wake Forest

SS Stephen Drew – Florida State

C Colt Morton NC State

OF Adam Bourassa Wake Forest

OF Jeremy Cleveland North Carolina

OF Tony McQuade – Florida State

P Joey Devine NC State

P Trent Peterson – Florida State

P Kyle Sleeth Wake Forest

P Vern Sterry NC State

At Large Joe Koshansky Virginia

At Large Micah Owings Georgia Tech

Second Team

1B Jerrod Brown – Florida State

2B David Slevin Clemson

3B Brad McCann Clemson

SS Russel Triplett Clemson

C Tony Richie – Florida State

OF Sean Farrell North Carolina

OF Joe Gaetti NC State

OF Ryan Johnson Wake Forest

OF Matt Murton Georgia Tech

P Kyle Bakker Georgia Tech

P Daniel Davidson – Florida State

P Daniel Hodges – Florida State

P Matt Lynch – Florida State

P Mike Rogers NC State

P Steve Schmoll Maryland

At Large Ryan Blake North Carolina

At Large Chad Prosser North Carolina

Related Articles