June 27, 2018
Florida State Earns NFCA National Coaching Staff Of The Year Honors

TALLAHASSEE, Fla. — After helping lead Florida State to its first NCAA National Championship in 2018, head coach Lonni Alameda, along with assistant coaches Travis Wilson and Craig Snider, were honored by the National Fastpitch Coaches Association on Wednesday as the trio were named the 2018 NFCA National Coaching Staff of the Year.

“There are so many more people than just the three of us that contributed to this award,” said Alameda. “From Kendra Lynch our volunteer coach and Ellie Cooper our graduate assistant, to our athletic trainer Eunice Hernandez and strength coach Kelly Borges, and many, many more, our success this season was because we came together as a complete team and a complete family. This year had a lot of highs and lows and I will always remember how much fun we had on and off the field. So proud of everyone involved with this program and it makes me so excited to come to work every day with such amazing and committed people.”

After starting the year with 12-6 record, the Seminoles closed out the 2018 season with 46 wins in its last 52 games, including 13 wins over ranked teams, seven victories against teams ranked in the Top 10 and six wins against three different teams that were ranked No. 1 during the season (Oregon, UCLA, Washington). Overall, FSU posted a 6-2 record against teams in the Pac-12 and a 6-3 mark versus SEC teams.

Florida State set program records this season with 115 doubles and 76 home runs, and its 152 stolen bases were the third-most in program history. The 115 doubles led the nation in 2018, broke the ACC single-season mark and tied Washington (2000) for eighth in NCAA history. Sydney Sherrill hit 29 of those doubles, setting FSU and ACC records and tying Nina Lindenberg (Fresno State – 1996) for the NCAA single-season record.

The Noles placed three members on the NFCA All-American teams, as Jessie Warren and Kylee Hanson were named to the Second Team, while Sherrill earned a spot on the Third Team. The trio also collected ACC individual honors as Warren was named ACC Player of the Year, Hanson received ACC Pitcher of the Year honors and Sherrill was selected as the ACC Freshman of the Year.

FSU tied NCAA postseason records with six elimination game victories, as well as six wins at the Women’s College World Series. The Noles stole 15 bases at the 2018 WCWS to set a tournament record and Dani Morgan’s seven SBs set an individual WCWS record, while Warren’s 13 hits in the tournament tied for the most in WCWS history.

The Seminoles placed five members on the WCWS All-Tournament Team, Elizabeth Mason, Anna Shelnutt, Meghan King, Sherrill and highlighted by Warren as she was named Most Outstanding Player.

The Seminoles will be back in action this fall with eight total exhibition games, with many at JoAnne Graf Field and others throughout the Southeast. The complete 2018 fall schedule will be released in a couple months, along with the 2019 Regular Season schedule that includes the inaugural JoAnne Graf Classic on February 8-10 and ESPN’s own St. Pete/Clearwater Elite Invitational on February 14-17 at the Eddie C. Moore Complex in Clearwater, Fla.

Follow Florida State softball on Twitter (@FSU_Softball) and Instagram (fsusoftball), and like our Facebook page (Facebook.com/FSUsoftball) to keep up to date with everything about Seminole softball.

Related Articles