March 20, 2004 - by
Florida State Finishes FSU Relays with Event Wins

March 20, 2004

Complete Results

Tallahassee, FL – The Florida State men’s and women’s track and field squad concluded the FSU Relays on Saturday, March 20, 2004 at the Mike Long Track and Field Complex.

Sophomore LaKendra McColumn (Lithonia, GA/Southwest Dekalb) posted a time of 13.77 in the 100m hurdles, joining the list of qualifiers for the NCAA East Regionals. McColumn also qualified for regionals in the 400m hurdles with a time of 1:00.08.

Sophomore Andrew Diakos (Naples, FL/Barron Collier) posted a third place finish in the hammer throw gold with a throw of 178’10”. Sophomore Shawn Allen (Crystal River, FL/Seven Rivers Christian) took third in the high jump gold, jumping to a height of 6’8.75″. Senior Courtney Wright (Bartonville, IL/Limestone Community College) missed qualifying for the second time this season in the long jump gold by .01m, recording a mark of 7.33m.

Junior Kimberly Walker (Port of Spain, Trinidad and Tobago, Poly Technic) won the 100m dash event, running a time of 11.72. Fellow junior Sharneka Brown (St. Petersburg, FL/Florida A&M) finished in 11.94 for third place.

The women’s 4x400m relay team won the event, behind senior Tamara Campbell (Orlando, FL/Evans), sophomore Kim Adams (Stone Mountain, GA/Stone Mountain), freshman Dana Massiah (Trinidad & Tobago/Bishop Anesty) and sophomore Evelyne Cynthia Niako (Stone Mountain, GA/Stephenson) were on the ‘A’ squad that topped the group.

Senior Helen Hofstede (Hoogharspel, Netherlands/RSG Enhhuizen), competing in the 800m gold run, finished second in a time of 2:12.79. Sophomore Kara Newell (Tallahassee, FL/Boston) also crossed the tape second in the 10,000m gold run in 37:40.42.

Sophomore LaToya Legree (Lithonia, GA/Stephenson) placed third in the triple jump gold event with a mark of 40’4.75″.

In the relay events, the Seminoles 1600m sprint medley gold teams finished first and second on the men’s side and third on the women’s side. Seniors Sean Campbell (Orlando, FL/Evans), Joe Paiva (Levittown, PA/Truman) and Brian Dzingai (Harare, Zimbabwe/Truman State) alongside junior Joclyn Worrell (Vero Beach, FL/Vero Beach) posted a time of 3:21.17 to capture the event title. The women’s team finished 4:07.05 en route to winning the 1600 sprint medley.

Related Articles