April 7, 2003 - by
Florida State Holds 9th Annual Golden ‘Nole Banquet

April 7, 2003

Tallahassee, Fla. –

The Florida State University’s athletics department hosted the 9th Annual Golden ‘Nole Award Banquet on Monday night at the University Center Club. The awards were created to recognize the outstanding overall achievement by FSU student-athletes and athletic teams.

“This is a rather unique event within college athletics,” said Pam Overton, Associate Athletics Director for Student Services at Florida State. “We bring our athletes from all our sports together in one place to honor them for their excellence both on and off the field. We these awards we recognize individuals and teams who excelled at students, in the arena of community service, and who represented the university with the highest standards. All that is in addition to an outstanding athletic performance. ”

The highlight of the evening every year is the awarding of the Athletic Director’s Cup, which goes to the FSU team that accumulated the most hours of community service per team member. The winner of the 2003 award was the women’s golf team, which was fresh of a tournament win this past weekend at the Ryder/Florida Championship in Miami Lakes.

“We are very proud of our student-athlete population and this night gives great testimony to the positive impact they have on this university and our community,” said Director of Athletics Dave Hart. “This is always one of my favorite events of the year. It makes me very proud to be a Seminole and it is proper that we recognize the overall excellence of our student-athletes.”

The Golden ‘Nole Award Winners:
Women’s Basketball – Katelyn Vujas
Men’s Basketball – Trevor Harvey
Men’s Cross Country – Joep Tigchelaar
Women’s Cross Country – Vicky Gill
Football – Brett Williams
Soccer – Jenny Garcia
Men’s Swimming & Diving – Justin Betts
Women’s Swimming & Diving – Emma Dutton
Volleyball – Jennifer Anderson
Baseball – Matt Lynch
Men’s Golf – Matt Adcock
Women’s Golf – Kristin Tamulis
Softball – Brandi Stuart
Men’s Tennis – Rodrigo Laub
Women’s Tennis – Anca Dumitrescu
Men’s Track & Field – Maarten van den Heuvel & Dorian Scott
Women’s Track & Field – Laura Gerber & Lacy Janson

DOC FAULS AWARD WINNER (Overcoming Adversity)
Erica Bunch – Volleyball

ACC Top Six for Service Winners (Monthly Community Service Winners)
Pete Prato (Men’s Track & Field)
Francine Houston (Women’s Basketball)
Tonya Rasor (Women’s Swimming)
Cindy Schofield (Soccer)
Jennifer Anderson (Volleyball)
Alison Curdt (Women’s Golf)

Seminole Impact Winners (New and Innovative Community Service Efforts)
Men’s & Women’s Cross Country Teams
Women’s Volleyball Team

Athletic Directors Cup for Service (Most Community Service Hours Per Team Member)
Women’s Golf Team

Related Articles