February 19, 2003 - by
Florida State Men’s Tennis Falls To Mustangs, 4-3

Feb. 19, 2003

The Florida State men’s tennis team hosted SMU Wednesday, February 19th, at the Scott Speicher Tennis Center on the campus of Florida State University. The Mustangs and the Seminoles entered the contest with identical records of 4-3 and proved to be similar on the court. At the completion of the match, SMU was on top, as they defeated the Tribe by a score 4-3. With the loss, Florida State falls to 4-4 on the season, while SMU improves to 5-3.

The Mustangs captured the first point of the day in doubles action, as they took two of three matches. Juniors Alex Herrera and Romain Jurd, playing at the No. 1 position, fell to Johan Brunstrom and Henrick Soderburg of SMU by a score of 5-8. At the No. 2 position, Mat Cloer and Rodrigo Laub were defeated by SMU’s Eric Cohn and Gwinyal Chingoka, 5-8. Florida State’s Jeff Groslimond and Chris Westerhof defeated Lukasz Senczyszyn and Peter Oredsson at the No. 3 position by a score of 9-7.

In singles action, the Seminoles and the Mustangs split singles play, eaching earning three points and allowing SMU a 4-3 victory. Cloer defeated Alexis Rudzinski of SMU at the No.1 position by scores of 6-4, 6-3. In No.2 singles, Florida State’s Jurd knocked off Brunstrom, 6-4, 6-3. Herrera, playing at the No. 3 position, fell at the hands of SMU’s Senczyszyn by scores of 6-4, 5-7, 3-6. At the No. 4 position, sophomore Chip Webb lost to Chingoka, 7-6, 4-6, 2-6. Freshman Westerhof was defeated by Soderburg in No. 5 singles by scores of 1-6, 3-6. Rodrigo Laub gave the Seminoles their third point of the match as he defeated Oredsson at the No. 6 position, 7-5, 6-2.

Florida State will return to action Saturday, February 22nd, when it hosts the University of Miami at the Scott Speicher Tennis Center. The match is scheduled to begin at 1:00 pm.

Final Box Score:
Florida State 3

No. 1 Mat Cloer (FSU) d. Alexis Rudzinski (SMU) 6-4, 6-3
No. 2 Romain Jurd (FSU) d. Johan Brunstrom (SMU) 6-4, 6-3
No. 3 Lukasz Senczyszyn (SMU) d. Alex Herrera (FSU) 6-4, 5-7, 3-6
No. 4 Gwinyal Chingoka (SMU) d. Chip Webb (FSU) 7-6, 4-6, 2-6
No. 5 Henrick Soderburg (SMU) d. Chris Westerhof (FSU) 1-6, 3-6
No. 6 Rodrigo Laub (FSU) d. Peter Oredsson (SMU) 7-5, 6-2

No. 1 Brunstrom/Soderburg (SMU) d. Herrera/Jurd (FSU) 5-8
No. 2 Eric Cohn/Chingoka (SMU) d. Cloer/Laub (FSU) 5-8
No. 3 Jeff Groslimond/Westerhof (FSU) d. Senczyszyn/Oredsson (SMU) 9-7

Related Articles