April 12, 2006 - by
Florida State Ranked Number One In Two Track Polls

April 12, 2006

Tallahassee, Fla. – The Florida State men’s track and field team is rated number one in both major national polls for the first time in program history. Trackwire Top 25 and the United States Track and Field/Cross Country Coaches Association (USTFCCCA) have the men’s squad listed at the top of all NCAA Division I teams in the nation, released earlier this week.

The USTFCCCA rankings are determined by a panel of 38 college coaches representing each region of the country and will be released every Tuesday until the national championships meet. Rounding out the men’s top 10 behind Florida State are Arkansas, LSU, Texas, UTEP, Arizona, Oregon, Tennessee, Florida and Virginia Tech.

Trackwire Top 25, which is announced every Monday, has Florida State scoring 60 points at the 2006 NCAA Outdoor Track and Field National Championships, 11 more than defending national champion Arkansas and 12 more than third-place Texas. The Seminoles are one of three ACC schools on the list, just ahead of No. 10 Virginia Tech and No. 12 North Carolina. FSU leads all seven schools in the region in the listing which included No. 10 Florida, No. 18 South Carolina and tied for No. 22 George Mason and Northeastern.

Individually, the Dandy Dozen has seven Seminole men in their top 12 projections. Redshirt junior Garrett Johnson (Tampa, Fla./Tampa Baptist Academy) and sophomore Walter Dix (Coral Springs, Fla./Coral Springs) are rated in two categories with Johnson listed at number two in the shot put and ninth in the discus and Dix at number two in the 100m and 200m. Senior Rafeeq Curry (Miami, Fla./ACE Academy) leads the triple jump and junior Tom Lancashire (Bolton, England/Turton) is the top 1500m runner. Junior transfer Greg Bolden (Morrow, Ga./Albany State) adds depth to the sprint events, joining Dix in the 100m at 11th.

The men’s 4x100m relay (Greg Bolden, Kenny O’Neal, Ricky Argro and Walter Dix) is rated second in the country with the second fastest time this year at 39.43.

Senior ACC Cross Country Champion Andrew Lemoncello (St. Andrews, Scotland/Stirling University) did not lose any ground in the steeple this year and is projected to finish fourth as he did in 2005.

Despite not having run a 400m event this year, sophomore All-American Ricardo Chambers (Palm Beach Gardens, Fla./Dwyer) is the sixth speediest quarter miler in the nation.

Trackshark.com, the leading website for collegiate track and field, has the Seminoles men’s team taking the team title and redshirt junior Garrett Johnson (Tampa, Fla./Tampa Baptist Academy) and redshirt senior Lacy Janson (Sarasota, Fla./Cardinal Mooney) winning individual titles at the outdoor national title meet from June 7-10 in Sacramento, Calif.

The women’s team is in the Top 20 in both polls, earning 14th in the USTFCCCA poll and tying for 15th according to Trackwire. They are the third highest ranked ACC team of five in the poll and are projected to score 16 points at the national meet.

The Trackwire Top 25 rankings are based on the individual Dandy Dozen list that rates the top 12 student-athletes in each event. Redshirt senior Natalie Hughes (Grand Junction, Colo./Palisade) is second in the 1500m behind Northern Arizona’s Johanna Nilsson while Janson, despite having the highest vault in the country, sits right behind D12 leader UCLA’s Chelsea Johnson in the pole vault. Senior and 2005 NCAA Steeple qualifier Barbara Parker is the ninth fastest 3K steeplechase runner in the country. Classmate LaKendra McColumn (Lithonia, Ga./Southwest Dekalb) rounds out the top ten in the 400m hurdles.

Senior LaToya Legree (Lithonia, Ga./Stephenson) joins the list after a career-best triple jump performance at the Texas Relays. The 2006 team captain is one of five jumpers from the ACC on the Dandy Dozen list with the fourth farthest jump of the group.

The Seminoles will train through the weekend in preparation for next week’s Atlantic Coast Conference Outdoor Track and Field Championships. The meet takes place in Winston-Salem, N.C., beginning on Thursday, April 20, 2006.

Related Articles