May 25, 2008 - by
Florida State Selected As Host for NCAA Baseball Regional

May 25, 2008

Indianapolis, Ind. – The NCAA Division I Baseball Committee announced 16 regional sites for the 62nd annual NCAA Division I Baseball Championship. Florida State University was selected as a regional host for the 26th time in school history. The four-team regional will begin on Friday, May 30 on Mike Martin Field inside Dick Howser Stadium.

The 16 regional sites, with host institutions and records through Sunday, May 25, are as follows: Arizona St. (45-11), Tempe, Ariz.; Cal St. Fullerton (37-18), Fullerton, Calif.; Coastal Carolina (47-12), Conway, S.C.; Florida St. (48-10), Tallahassee, Fla.; Georgia (35-21), Athens, Ga.; Long Beach St. (36-19), Long Beach, Calif.; LSU (42-16), Baton Rouge, La.; Miami, Fla. (46-8), Coral Gables, Fla.; Michigan (45-12), Ann Harbor, Mich.; Nebraska (40-14), Lincoln, Neb.; North Carolina (46-12), Cary, N.C.; NC State (38-20), Raleigh, N.C.; Oklahoma State (42-16), Stillwater, Okla.; Rice (42-13), Houston, Texas; Stanford (33-20), Palo Alto, Calif.; Texas A&M (43-16), College Station, Texas;

By virtue of being awarded a regional, 10 of the host institutions also have been selected as at-large teams to the 64-team field. Florida St., Georgia, North Carolina, Texas A&M, Cal State Fullerton, Rice, Nebraska, NC State, Stanford and Oklahoma State, have made the field as at-large selections. Michigan, LSU, Coastal Carolina, Miami, Long Beach State and Arizona State all clinched automatic berths by winning their conference tournament championship or winning the regular season title.

Each regional field features four teams, playing a double-elimination format. All 16 regionals are scheduled to be conducted from Friday, May 30 to Monday, June 2.

This will be the 26th time that Florida State has hosted a regional. Miami (Fla.) is hosting for the 21st time. Arizona State and LSU are both hosting for the 18th time. Stanford (14th) and Oklahoma State (10th) are the only other institutions to host 10 or more times since the NCAA went to the regional format in 1975.

Cal St. Fullerton, Rice and Texas A&M are hosting a regional for the seventh time, while Michigan and Nebraska are hosting for the sixth time. This marks the first time for Michigan to host since 1986.

Georgia, Long Beach State and North Carolina are hosting for the fourth time. Coastal Carolina and North Carolina State are hosting only for the second time. Seven institutions (Arizona State, Coastal Carolina, Florida State, Long Beach State, North Carolina, Rice and Texas A&M) also hosted in 2007.

The remaining at-large teams, top-eight national seeds, first-round regional pairings and site assignments will be announced at 12:30 p.m. Eastern time, Monday, May 26, during a live, half-hour program on ESPN. The committee will set the entire 64-team bracket through both the super regionals and the first round of the Men’s College World Series, and will not reseed the field after play begins. Selection of the eight super regional hosts will be announced on, Monday, June 2 at approximately 11 p.m. (ET).

Thirty Division I conferences receive an automatic berth in the field of 64, along with 34 at-large selections. The 62nd Men’s College World Series begins play Saturday, June 14, at Rosenblatt Stadium in Omaha, Nebraska.

Atlantic Coast – 4 (Florida State, Miami, North Carolina, NC State)
Big 12 – 3 (Nebraska, Oklahoma State, Texas A&M)
Big West – 2 (Cal State Fullerton, Long Beach State)
Pacific-10 – 2 (Arizona State, Stanford)
Southeastern – 2 (Georgia, LSU)
Big South – 1 (Coastal Carolina)
Big Ten – 1 (Michigan)
Conference USA – 1 (Rice)

courtesy of

Related Articles