May 29, 2016 - by
Florida State Selected As NCAA Baseball Regional Host

TALLAHASSEE, Fla. ( – Florida State University has been selected as a regional host for the 2016 NCAA Baseball Tournament by the NCAA Division I Baseball Committee.  The four-team regional is scheduled for June 3-6 on Mike Martin Field at Dick Howser Stadium.  Florida State will serve as a regional host for the sixth consecutive season, the 18th time in the last 20 seasons and the 33rd time in school history when play begins Friday.

The 16 regional sites, with host institutions and records are as follows: Baton Rouge, La. – LSU (42-18); Charlottesville, Va. – Virginia (37-20); Clemson, S.C. – Clemson (42-18); College Station, Tex. – Texas A&M (45-14); Columbia, S.C. – South Carolina (42-15); Coral Gables, Fla. – Miami (FL) (45-11); Fort Worth, Tex. – TCU (42-15); Gainesville, Fla. – Florida (47-13); Lafayette, La. – UL Lafayette (41-19); Louisville, Ky. – Louisville (47-12); Lubbock, Tex. – Texas Tech (41-16); Nashville, Tenn. – Vanderbilt (43-17); Oxford, Miss. – Ole Miss (43-17); Raleigh, N.C. – North Carolina State (35-20); Starkville, Miss. – Mississippi State (41-16); Tallahassee, Florida – Florida State (37-20).

Florida State’s selection as a host site for the regional round of the tournament ensures the Seminoles have also been selected to in the NCAA Tournament for the 41st consecutive season (every year since 1975).  Each regional field features four teams, playing a double-elimination format.

The remaining at-large selections, top-eight national seeds, first round regional pairings and site assignments will be announced at 12 Noon (ET), Monday, May 30 on ESPN.  The NCAA Division I Baseball Committee will set the entire 64-team bracket through the super regionals and the first round of the Men’s College World Series, and will not reseed the field after plays begins.

Florida State Selected As NCAA Baseball Regional Host

Three institutions are hosting for the 20th time or more as Florida State leads the list of schools with 33, Miami (Florida) with 27 and LSU with 24. South Carolina is hosting for the 17th time, while Florida is hosting for the 14th time. Clemson and Mississippi State are hosting for the 13th time since the NCAA went to the regional format in 1975.

Nine institutions [Florida, Florida State, LSU, Louisville, Miami (Florida), Oklahoma State, TCU, Texas A&M, Vanderbilt] also hosted in 2015.

The Super Regional sites will be announced on, on Monday, June 6 at approximately 11 p.m. (ET).

There are 31 Division I conferences which will receive an automatic berth in the field of 64, along with 33 at-large selections. The 69th Men’s College World Series begins play Saturday, June 13, at TD Ameritrade Park Omaha in Omaha, Nebraska.

Tickets for the 2016 NCAA Baseball Tallahassee Regional will go on sale to the public at 3:00 p.m. EST on Monday, May 30 at Phone and walk-up orders begin at 8:30 a.m. on Tuesday morning by calling 888-378-6653 or visiting the main Seminole Ticket Office located at Doak Campbell Stadium, University Center C.

Regional tournament passes are available for $55 for reserved seats and $40 for general admission seats. Individual game tickets will go on-sale beginning Friday, June 3. Individual game prices are $18 for reserved (if available) and $12 for adult general admission and $8 for youth general admission (ages 5-18). Children aged 4 and under are free with a paying adult.

Southeastern – 7
Atlantic Coast — 6
Big 12 – 2
Sun Belt – 1

– also contributed information for this release

Related Articles