July 27, 2009 - by
Florida State Selected To Win Atlantic Division And Play In ACC Championship Game At 33rd Annual ACC Kickoff

July 27, 2009

Great Tickets Still Available For All Six Home Games

Florida State has been selected to win the Atlantic Division and play in the ACC Championship game against predicted Coastal Division winner Virginia Tech by a record number of voting media members at the 33rd annual Atlantic Coast Conference Football Kickoff at the Grandover Resort. It marks the fourth time in the last five seasons that the Seminoles have been chosen as the preseason favorite to win their division and play in the conference championship game. Only in 2008 has Florida State not been selected to win their division since the league began its two division format in 2005.

The Seminoles have now been predicted to win either the Atlantic Division or the conference championship in 16 of the 17 years since joining the ACC in 1992. The Seminoles were predicted to, and won outright or tied for the ACC championship each season from 1992 through 2000. The Seminoles won the league championship in 2002 and 2003, won the ACC Championship game in 2005 and won the Atlantic Division championship in 2005 (tied with Boston College) while tying Boston College atop the Atlantic Division 2008. Florida State ranks second in ACC history with 10 outright ACC championships and second in overall championships with 12 despite being the fourth youngest member of the league.

The fifth annual ACC Championship game is scheduled for Dec. 5 at Raymond James Stadium in Tampa, Fla. The game will be televised on ESPN with an 8:00 p.m. kickoff. The Seminoles won the inaugural ACC Championship game with a 27-22 victory over Virginia Tech in 2005

Florida State earned 56 of the record-setting 87 votes cast by the attending media members to win the division title. The Seminoles (56 first place votes/479 total points) received nearly 65 percent of the first place votes to finish ahead of Clemson (14/387 points), NC State (10/364), Wake Forest (seven/295), Maryland (zero/157) and Boston College (zero/145) in the Atlantic Division voting.

Seminole quarterback Christian Ponder, who represented Florida State at the event along with linebacker Dekoda Watson, received one vote in the preseason ACC Player of the Year balloting. He was tied for fourth behind Georgia Tech’s Jonathan Dwyer (39 votes), C.J. Spiller of Clemson (25) and Russell Wilson of NC State (16). Ponder was tied with Vic Hall of Virginia, Tyrod Taylor of Virginia Tech and Riley Skinner of Wake Forest in the voting.

Florida State opens the 2009 season and its 2009 conference schedule as it plays host to Miami on Sept. 7 at Doak Campbell Stadium. The game, which will be played on Labor Day night, begins at 8:00 p.m. and will be broadcast nationally on ESPN.

2009 ACC Football Kickoff Preseason Media Balloting

Atlantic Division  
1.  Florida State (56 FPV) 479
2.  Clemson (14) 387
3.  NC State (10) 364
4.  Wake Forest (7) 295
5.  Maryland 157
6.  Boston College 145
Coastal Division  
1.  Virginia Tech (78) 512
2.  Georgia Tech (9) 415
3.  North Carolina 350
4.  Miami 282
5.  Virginia 148
6.  Duke 120

Predicted ACC Championship Game Winner

1. Virginia Tech 69
T2. Florida State 7
     Georgia Tech 7
T4.  Clemson 2
       NC State 2

2009 Preseason ACC Player of the Year

1. Jonathan Dwyer, Georgia Tech 39
2. C.J. Spiller, Clemson 28
3. Russell Wilson, NC State 16
T4. Christian Ponder, Florida State 1
Vic Hall, Virginia 1
Tyrod Taylor, Virginia Tech 1
Riley Skinner, Wake Forest 1

Related Articles