April 26, 2001 - by
Florida State Tennis Players Awarded Atlantic Coast Conference Honors

April 26, 2001

TALLAHASSEE, FL.–Florida State’s Alida Gallovits, a junior from Romania, made the All-Atlantic Coast Conference Tennis Team for the third straight year while Xavier Luscan, also a junior, picked up his second selection in two years at FSU. The All-ACC Teams, which are voted on by the head coaches in each league, consist of 12 men and 12 women.

Gallovits, a straight A student who has been the No. 1 player on the women’s team for the past three years, went 6-4 against ACC opponents this season and currently holds 65th place in the ITA singles rankings. As the 2001 Golden Nole MVP Award winner for women’s tennis she has led her team to a 14-10 regular season record and a national ranking of No. 42, and she also helped the Lady Seminoles reach the semi-final round of the ACC tournament in Orlando this past weekend.

Luscan, the men’s tennis team’s top player and MVP, had an outstanding 7-1 run against ACC opponents this year, playing mainly at the No. 1 position for the Seminoles, and he helped his team to a 4-5 record and 5th place in the ACC tournament. The men are currently ranked No. 65 by the ITA and will play their last home match on Sunday April 29th at 1:00 p.m. against the 20th-ranked Auburn Tigers.


Janet Bergman, Wake Forest

Bea Bielik, Wake Forest

Ansley Cargill, Duke (Rookie and Player of the Year)

Delia Causevic, Maryland

Alida Gallovits, Florida State

Maren Haus, Wake Forest

Amanda Johnson, Duke

Marlene Mejia, North Carolina

Megan Miller, Duke

Julie Rotondi, North Carolina

Kathy Sell, Duke

Jaime Wong, Georgia Tech

ACC Women’s Coach of the Year: Jamie Ashworth, Duke


Roger Anderson, Georgia Tech

Marko Cerenko, Duke

Josh Goffi, Clemson

Eric Jackson, NC State

Phillip King, Duke (Rookie of the Year)

Xavier Luscan, Florida State

Huntley Montgomery, Virginia

Raul Munoz, Wake Forest

Andres Pedroso, Duke

Marcio Petrone, North Carolina

Ramsey Smith, Duke

Brian Vahaly, Virginia (Player of the Year)

ACC Men’s Coach of the Year: Jay Lapidus, Duke


Related Articles