June 21, 2000 - by
Florida State To Play Eight Night Games In 2000

June 21, 2000

Tallahassee –
Defending national champion Florida State University
will play eight night games in 2000, including its annual season-ending
date with Florida according to the schedule of kickoff times released by
the school on Wednesday. The Seminoles will play Florida on ABC with
kickoff scheduled for prime time at 8:00 p.m. FSU will also play BYU,
Georgia Tech, Louisville, Maryland, Duke, NC State and Clemson at night.

“When you consider the number of television households viewing a prime
time game as compared to a Noon or 3:30 p.m., game, the value in terms of
exposure for our program, and more importantly our university, is
substantial,” said Dave Hart, Jr., Director of Athletics at FSU.

“By present day college football programming and distribution models, the
frequency of national prime time football exposures we are afforded in the
2000 season is unprecedented. No single conference, or team, will approach
it. We are honored to be in such a position and we are grateful to our
television partners, ABC, ESPN, ESPN2, and the ACC for their roles in
bringing Saturday night fever back to Seminole football in the 2000

Florida State will enter the 2000 season riding a 12-game winning streak
and the Seminoles have not lost at home in their last 46 games. FSU will
play eight of its 12 games within the state of Florida. The schedule
includes the Pigskin Classic on August 26th against BYU in Alltel Stadium
in Jacksonville. FSU will play North Carolina, Louisville, Duke, Virginia,
Clemson and Florida at home. The Seminoles will travel out of state on
September 9 to play Georgia Tech in Atlanta, on September 28 in a Thursday
game at Maryland and on October 28 at NC State.

The Atlantic Coast Conference will release the remainder of the league’s
television schedule at a later date.


Date     Opponent          Site              Time
Aug. 26  Brigham Young     Jacksonville, FL  8:00 p.m.
         (Pigskin Classic)

Sept. 9 at Georgia Tech Atlanta, GA 8:00 p.m. Sept. 16 NORTH CAROLINA TALLAHASSEE 3:30 p.m. Sept. 23 LOUISVILLE TALLAHASSEE 6:00 p.m. Sept. 28 at Maryland College Park, MD 8:00 p.m.

Oct. 7 at Miami Miami, FL 12:00 Noon Oct. 14 DUKE TALLAHASSEE 7:00 p.m. Oct. 21 VIRGINIA TALLAHASSEE 3:30 p.m. Oct. 28 at NC State Raleigh, NC 7:00 p.m.

Nov. 4 CLEMSON TALLAHASSEE 7:30 p.m. Nov. 11 at Wake Forest Winston-Salem, NC 12:00 Noon Nov. 18 FLORIDA TALLAHASSEE 8:00 p.m.

Related Articles