December 2, 2008 - by
Florida State Update At The FIFA Youth World In Chile

Dec. 2, 2008

TALLAHASSEE, Fla. – Following its loss to China in the final game of pool play, the United States bounced back in fine fashion with a 3-0 victory over England in the quarterfinals of the FIFA Youth World Cup. The U.S. advances to the semifinals to face Germany, who defeated Brazil 3-2. The semifinal match will take place on Thursday, December 4 at 5:00 p.m. EST in Coquimbo, Chile. The United States has qualified for the semifinal stage in all four FIFA events held for the U-20 age group.

After battling to a scoreless draw through the first 45 minutes of play, the U.S. struck for three second half goals including the game-winner in the 53rd minute by Keelin Winters. Junior Becky Edwards made her third start of the tournament for the United States playing all 90 minutes in the midfield.

The USA’s resounding win over England also kept alive a remarkable streak for the U.S. Women’s National Team programs, as the USA has advanced to the semifinals of every FIFA women’s event ever held. That streak includes five FIFA Women’s World Cup tournaments, four Olympic Games, two FIFA U-19 Women’s World Cups, two FIFA U-20 Women’s World Cups and the just completed inaugural U-17 FIFA Women’s World Cup.

The other semifinal match will feature France and Korea DPR in Temuco, Chile, on Thursday at 2:00 p.m. EST. France defeated Nigeria 3-2, while Korea DPR downed Japan 2-1 in the quarterfinals.

The gold medal match will be played on December 7 at 4:30 EST in Santiago, Chile.

United States – Group B
November 19, 2008 – U.S. d. France, 3-0
November 22, 2008 – U.S. d. Argentina, 3-0
November 26, 2008 – China d. U.S., 2-0

Canada – Group C
November 20, 2008 – Japan d. Canada, 2-0
November 23, 2008 – Canada d. Congo, 4-0
November 27, 2008 – Germany d. Canada, 2-1

November 30, 2008 – U.S. d. England, 3-0
November 30, 2008 – France d. Nigeria, 3-2
December 1, 2008 – Germany d. Brazil, 3-2
December 1, 2008 – Korea DPR d. Japan, 2-1

December 4, 2008 – U.S. vs. Germany, 5:00 p.m. EST (
December 4, 2008 – France vs. Korea DPR, 2:00 p.m. EST (

Championship Final
December 12, 2008 – 4:30 p.m. EST (

Third Place Game
December 12, 2008 – 1:30 p.m. EST (

Related Articles