February 7, 2002 - by
Florida State Volleyball Holds Annual Awards Banquet

Feb. 7, 2002

TALLAHASSEE, Fla. – The 2001 Florida State University Volleyball Banquet was held Saturday, February 2nd at Wakulla Springs Lodge. The team was recognized for their academic and athletic achievements. Florida State placed six players on the 2001 ACC Honor Roll and two players garnered ACC All-Tournament team honors.

The Florida State players named to the 2001 ACC Honor Roll were Jennifer Anderson, Kristin Frye, Dawn Hough, Cerina Pele, Elizabeth Pound and Alexandra Sevillano. Anderson, Pound and Sevillano were three of six players that were also named to the Fall 2001 Dean’s List. Anderson was also recognized as being named to the second team Verizon Academic All District III Volleyball Team and received the Golden Torch Award as well.

During the 2001 volleyball season, senior Norisha Campbell was named ACC player of the week twice. Campbell was named to the AVCA East Region Team and the ACC All-Tournament Team following the season. Anderson was also named to the ACC All-Tournament Team. Junior Erica Bunch was name ACC player of the week once during the 2001 season. Team awards were given to Campbell as best hitter, Sevillano as best defensive specialist, Hough as best blocker and Frye as best server. The three seniors, Campbell, Pound, and Luana Ruiz Azevedo, were recognized in a special presentation.

Later in the Banquet, assistant head coach Sue Woodstra and Senior Associate Athletic Director Charlie Carr acknowledged Dr. Cecile Reynaud, former Florida State volleyball head coach, for her impact on the program and players. Reynaud was the head coach for the Lady Seminoles for 26 years before retiring from the position in December. She led Florida State to its first ACC Championship in 1998.

The 2001 Florida State Volleyball team finished the season with an overall record of 17-12 and a record of 10-6 in the ACC. The Lady Seminoles advanced to the championship game of the ACC Tournament.

Related Articles