May 25, 2002 - by
Florida State Wins 2002 ACC Baseball Championship

May 25, 2002

Box Score?|?

St. Petersburg, Fla. – No. 1 seed Florida State (56-12) continued its
two year dominance over No. 4 Clemson (47-13) and won its third ACC
title Saturday night in St. Petersburg, Fla. with a 4-1 win in the ACC
Baseball Championship game.

Florida State has won nine straight over Clemson dating back to last
season. The last time Clemson beat the Seminoles was in 2000 in the ACC
Tournament in Charlotte.

Seminole starter Marc LaMacchia (10-1) earned the win with a strong
outing, his longest of the season. The left hander went eight innings
giving up only one run and seven hits. He struck out four and did not
give up a walk.

Daniel Hodges came into pitch in the ninth for Florida State after
LaMacchia gave up a lead off single to Khalil Greene. LaMacchia left
the game to a standing ovation from Florida State fans among the 4,024
in attendance. Hodges shut the Tigers down to end the game and record
his 11th save of the season.

Clemson starter Patrick Hogan (2-1) took the loss and went six innings
allowing four runs, but only two were earned.

With two outs in the first inning, Ryan Barthelemy extended his hitting
streak to 18 games when he singled to left field. After advancing to
second base on a wild pitch, Barthelemy crossed home plate with the
game’s first run thanks to a double down the right field line by
designated hitter Blair McCaleb.

In the third inning, shortstop Stephen Drew led off with his third home
run of the ACC Tournament. The solo shot to right field gave the
Seminoles a 2-0 lead and helped Drew earn ACC Tournament MVP honors.

Florida State picked up two more runs in the fifth inning as McCaleb
singled to bring home Tony McQuade and Drew.

In the top of the seventh, Clemson ended LaMacchia’s shut out bid when
Jeff Baker hit a solo home run to right field, his second of the

Game Notes: The win was Florida State’s 22nd consecutive win…Florida
State is 5-0 against Clemson in 2002…the Seminoles are 10-0 in two ACC
Tournaments in St. Petersburg, Fla….Florida State’s three ACC
Tournament titles have come in 1995, 1997 and 2002…Clemson’s Khalil
Greene extended his hitting streak to 27 games.

Related Articles